Mustafizur's dream run humiliates India as Bangladesh take series

Mustafizur's dream run humiliates India as Bangladesh take series
Soumya Sarkar (left) added a 52-run stand with Litton Das for second wicket as Bangladesh sealed the series against India in Mirpur.
©REUTERS / Action Images

Bangladesh 200-4 (Shakib 51 no) beat
India 200 (Dhawan 53) by six wickets (D/L)
Second One-Day International in Mirpur

Mustafizur Rahman became only the second player ever in One-Day International cricket to take two five wicket hauls in his first two games, wrecking the Indian batting and helping Bangladesh win the second ODI in Mirpur by six wickets (D/L) and with it their first ever bilateral series against India.

India won the toss and opted to bat first. It was not the best of starts as Mustafizur (6-43) got Rohit Sharma (0) the second ball, caught at point, loosely driving to a wide half-volley.

Virat Kohli (23) and Shikhar Dhawan (53) put on a half-century partnership going at run a ball, Kohli hitting Mustafizur for a six and four to take India to 54 for one after nine overs when rain intervened for the first time, for a few minutes.

Soon after, Nasir Hossain (2-33), a part-time spinner got Kohli in his second over, missing a straight delivery and trapped lbw.

MS Dhoni (47) promoted himself up the order ahead of Ambati Rayudu (0) who was in the team replacing Ajinkya Rahane.

Dhawan got to his fifty in the 18th over but threw it away charging down the track to Nasir and edging a spinning delivery to the wicket-keeper Litton Das, who had earlier dropped Dhoni.

India were 109 for three after 21 overs at that point and from then on, failed to put on any partnerships of massive substance.

Rayudu’s short stay ended in three balls as he cut a short delivery straight to backward point.

Suresh Raina (34) and Dhoni were cautious for a while adding 53 runs for the fifth wicket in close to 14 overs almost too defensive against tight Bangladesh bowling.

But Raina fell, eventually edging a short one to the wicket-keeper.

Mustafizur was on a roll from then on, virtually running through the Indian batting order.

Dhoni’s hard vigil of 75-balls had an untimely end even before he could bring on the fireworks after being extra cautious in the batting powerplay.

He was deceived by a slower delivery from Mustafizur who got Axar Patel (0) as well in the very next delivery to leave India reeling at 179 for seven.

Rain interrupted the game for more than a hour but India were eventually bundled out for 200 with Mustafizur bagging six, one up from his debut game.

The target was readjusted to 200 off 47 overs.

Bangladesh had some luck very early on as a catch which Kohli took in the second over was turned down due to umpire’s doubts over whether it was clean, giving Tamim Iqbal (13) a life.

Tamim however, didn’t last long as Dhawal Kulkarni (1-42) got him to edge one to slip, with Bangladesh 35 for one after seven overs.

After a good partnership between Soumya Sarkar (34) and Das (36), things got worse for India when the duo cracked Axar Patel (1-48) for 15 in his first over taking Bangladesh to 86 for one after 16 overs.

It was RavichandranAshwin (1-32) bowling beautifully who got the breakthrough, trapping Sarkar lbw.

India managed to apply more pressure getting Das out, edging one to Dhoni.

However, the two batting stalwarts for Bangladesh, Shakib Al Hasan (51 not out) and Mushfiqur Rahim (31) played attacking and positive cricket to take Bangladesh closer to the target.

Bangladesh were 98 for three and India could have put more pressure had Raina hung on to a sharp chance at slip from Mushfiqur off the bowling of Patel.

The two batsmen smacked Patel for 16 runs in the 26th over and eventually brought up their 50 run partnership in the 29th over.

With 49 runs to win, a sharp piece of wicket-keeping led to Mushfiqur getting run out.

However, Shakib steered the chase beautifully from there on, cutting down the risk and going to his 50 eventually with a four and taking Bangladesh to the target in the 38th over adding an unbeaten 48 with Sabbir Rahman (22 not out).

Bangladesh won the game by six wickets with 54 balls to spare. They won the series with a game to go.

More importantly, their tenth straight home win has ensured a place for them in the next Champions Trophy. Mustafizur was awarded the man-of-the-match.

© Cricket World 2015