< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Nabi, Rashid set to make CPL debut after picked in draft

Chris Gayle has moved from Jamaica Tallawahs to St Kitts and Nevis Patriots
Chris Gayle has moved from Jamaica Tallawahs to St Kitts and Nevis Patriots

Afghanistan pair Mohammad Shahzad and Mohammad Nabi are all set to make their debut in the 2017 Caribbean Premier League (CPL) after the duo were picked in the draft conducted in Barbados on Friday.

The news comes days after the duo were picked in Indian Premier League 2017 auction as well for the first time.

Nabi was picked for USD 90,000 in the fourth round of the draft by St Kitts and Nevis Patriots while Rashid was snared for USD 60,000 by Guyana Amazon Warriors as both the players were instrumental in Afghanistan recording a world record of 10 consecutive wins in Twenty20 Internationals.

Rashid went on to register figures of three for five in the second T20I against Ireland in Greater Noida on Friday while Nabi has bee handy with both bat and the ball.

Defending champions Jamaica Tallawahs tried to offset the loss of Chris Gayle with the inclusion of Lendl Simmons while Chadwick Walton has moved to Guyana Amazon Warriors as well. Gayle had already indicated his intention to move to St Kitts and Nevis Patriots - a team that ended last in previous season.

Patriots, who have Chris Morris has their marquee player also picked Australian all-rounder Ben Cutting as he is set to make his debut in the Caribbean tournament.

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson, who was named as the marquee player for Jamaica Tallawahs will play along side Kieron Pollard and he becomes the fourth New Zealand batsman to feature in CPL 2017 after Martin Guptill, Brendon McCullum and Colin Munro.

St Lucia Stars that has Lasith Malinga and Darren Sammy have acquired Marlon Samuels in their squad along with Kamran Akmal. Each squad also had a mandatory selection of having one each of emerging West Indies youth talent and also ICC America representative.

Yasir Shah, Misbah-ul-Haq, Tymal Mills, Shaun Marsh and Corey Anderson went unpicked during the draft process.

Barbados Tridents: Kieron Pollard, Kane Williamson*, Shoaib Malik, Dwayne Smith, Nicholas Pooran, Wayne Parnell, Ravi Rampaul, Wahab Riaz, Raymond Reifer, Christopher Barnwell, Imran Khan, Damian Jacobs, Akeal Hosein, Ryan Wiggins, Tino Best, Shamar Springer (Young W.I.), Akeem Dolton (ICC Americas)

Guyana Amazon Warriors: Sohail Tanvir, Martin Guptill*, Chadwick Walton, Chris Lynn, Rayad Emrit, Rashid Khan, Jason Mohammed, Steven Taylor, Veerasammy Permaul, Roshan Primus, Gajanand Singh, Assad Fudadin, Keon Joseph, Steven Jacobs, Steven Ketwaroo, Shimron Hetmeyer (Young W.I.), Muhammad Ali Khan (ICC Americas)

Jamaica Tallawahs: Lendl Simmons, Kumar Sangakkara*, Shakib Al Hasan, Imad Wasim, Muhammad Sami, Rovman Powell, Gidron Pope, Kesrick Williams, Garey Mathurin, Jon-Russ Jaggesar, Krishmar Santokie, Jonathan Foo, Kennar Lewis, Andre McCarthy, Odean Smith, O’Shane Thomas (Young W.I.), Timroy Allen (ICC Americas)

St. Kitts & Nevis Patriots: Chris Gayle, Chris Morris*, Ben Cutting, Mohammad Nabi, Evin Lewis, Samuel Badree, Jonathan Carter, Tabraiz Shamsi, Brandon King, Devon Thomas, Sheldon Cotterell, Kieran Powell, Fabian Allen, Shamarh Brooks, Jeremiah Louis, Alzarri Joseph (Young W.I.), Nikhil Dutta (ICC Americas), Carlos Brathwaite (WICB ‘Free’)

St. Lucia Stars: David Miller, Lasith Malinga*, Shane Watson, Daren Sammy, Johnson Charles, Andre Fletcher, Jerome Taylor, Marlon Samuels, Kamran Akmal, Rakheem Cornwall, Kyle Mayers, Shane Shillingford, Eddie Leie, Keddy Lesporis, Sunil Ambris, Obed McCoy (Young W.I.), Timal Patel (ICC Americas)

Trinbago Knight Riders: Dwayne Bravo, Brendon McCullum*, Sunil Narine, Hashim Amla, Darren Bravo, Denesh Ramdin, Colin Munro, Shadab Khan, Khary Pierre, Ronsford Beaton, Javon Searles, Nikita Miller, William Perkins, Kevon Cooper, Brad Hogg, Anderson Phillip (Young W.I.), Hamza Tariq (ICC Americas)

* denotes Marquee Players

© Cricket World 2017