Namibia Wins Top Prize At ICC Development Awards

Binaya Raj Pandey, President of the Cricket Association of Nepal, was this year’s recipient of the Pepsi ICC Development Programme Lifetime Service award while Namibia’s cricket development programme took the top prize of Best Overall Cricket Development Programme at the awards which coincided with ICC’s centenary year.

Deutsche Cricket Bund picked up the Best Women’s Cricket Initiative award for 2009 while Israel Cricket Association won the Best Spirit of Cricket Initiative in partnership with UNAIDS and UNICEF.

The programme has introduced cricket as a means of bringing together Jewish and Bedouin children in the Negev Desert to promote co-existence and tolerance amongst those caught up in the Israel-Arab conflict.

For the Volunteer of the Year Award, the standard of regional winners was so high that the judges decided to honour James Bennett of Ireland and S Gopalkrishnan of Indonesia for their dedication and contribution to the game in 2009.

The Photo of the Year also came from Ireland and was taken by Rob O’Connor. The photo captures the match winning run-out and is a great illustration of the passion and promise of youth cricket.

Other winners this year include Cricket PNG for the Best Promotion and Marketing Programme. PNG staged the terrific Pacific MMI Don’t Drink and Drive Legend Event, with six former Australian international’s leading a side each in the Twenty20 carnival.

This year’s judging panel featured current ICC President David Morgan, alongside former ICC presidents Ehsan Mani, Malcolm Gray and Ray Mali. Keith Bradshaw, the Secretary and Chief Executive of Marylebone Cricket Club, completed the line-up.

ICC Global Development Manager Matthew Kennedy said of the awards recipients this year: “It is wonderful to see so many of our Associates and Affiliates being recognised for all the hard work and effort they put into their cricket programmes.

“Everyone who has won and those who were not successful this time round should be congratulated for their continuing effort and dedication to improving cricket in their nation.”

The winners:

Best Overall Cricket Development Programme – Namibia Cricket Board
Best Women’s Cricket Initiative – Deutsche Cricket Bund
Best Junior Cricket Initiative – Cricket Association of Nepal
Best Cricket Promotion and Marketing Programme – Cricket PNG
Best Spirit of Cricket Initiative in Partnership with UNAIDS and UNICEF – Israel Cricket Association
Photo of the Year - Cricket Ireland (Rob O’Connor)
Volunteer of the Year – James Bennett (Ireland) & S Gopalkrishnan (Indonesia)
Lifetime Service Award – Binaya Raj Pandey (Nepal)
Prizes – the national cricket bodies of all global winners receive a US$2,000 cricket equipment grant.