< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Nasir Hossain returns to Bangladesh World T20 squad

Nasir Hossain returns to Bangladesh World T20 squad
Nasir Hossain was earlier dropped for the four-match T20I series against Zimbabwe.
©REUTERS / Action Images

Bangladesh selectors have recalled all-rounder Nasir Hossain in the 15-man squad for the World Twenty20 tournament scheduled to be played in India in March.

Nasir last featured for Bangladesh in November 2015 and was left out of the squad that played Zimbabwe last month in a four-match T20I series.

Nasir also had a poor Bangladesh Premier League season, having scored just 193 runs from 11 games at an average of 19.30.

Apart from Nasir, the selectors have also included wicket-keeper batsman Mohammad Mithun after a gap of 18 months.

Mashrafe Mortaza will get another chance to lead the team with the experienced duo of Shakib Al Hasan and Mushfiqur Rahim assisting him.

Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar and Sabbir Rahman will form the top order with Mahmudullah, Rahim and Hasan to follow them.

The young and talented Mustafizur Rahman who pulled out of the Pakistan Super League due to a shoulder injury is expected to be fit while Rubel Hossain has been omitted after he failed to make sufficient progress.

Bangladesh will be taking on the Netherlands, Ireland and Oman on the 9th, 11th and 13th March respectively in the first round of the World T20 tournament.

Bangladesh World T20 squad:

Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Mohammad Mithun, Mahmudullah, Mushfiqur Rahim, Soumya Sarkar, Sabbir Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Al-Amin Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Arafat Sunny, Abu Hider, Nurul Hasan 

© Cricket World 2016