< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Nathan McCullum, Southee return to World T20 squad

Nathan McCullum, Southee return to World T20 squad
Nathan McCullum (centre) earlier announced that he will retire at the end of the World Cup.
©REUTERS / Action Images

New Zealand have included off-spinner Nathan McCullum and fast bowler Tim Southee in the 15-man squad for the ICC World Twenty20 tournament to be held in India.

Southee sustained a foot injury during the third One-Day International against Sri Lanka in Nelson and was unable to take part in the subsequent T20 International series against the same opposition.

The same foot injury has kept Southee out of the recently concluded limited overs series against Pakistan and also the upcoming ODI series against Australia.

Meanwhile, Nathan announced earlier that he will retire from international cricket at the end of the current New Zealand season.

With the Indian conditions in mind, the New Zealand selectors have also included Ish Sodhi and Mitchell Santner as the spin bowling options in the squad.

New Zealand coach Mike Hesson feels that the inclusion of three front-line spinners will give the Black Caps plenty of options in the World T20.

"With the Indian conditions in mind, the plan has always been to take three front-line spinners and all three bring something different.

“It's great to have Nathan available again and his experience in the foreign conditions will be invaluable.

“Both he and Mitch Santner have the ability to bowl in the first six overs, which gives Kane a number of options to work with."

Kane Williamson will lead the side after Brendon McCullum announced his retirement while the injured duo of Ross Taylor and Mitchell McClenaghan are expected to recover in time for the mega-event and are included in the squad.

Along with Southee, Trent Boult will lead the pace attack which consists of McClenaghan and Adam Milne while Grant Elliott, Corey Anderson and Colin Munro will be the all-round options.

Williamson, Martin Guptill, Taylor and Henry Nicholls will form the core of top order while Luke Ronchi has been handed the responsibility behind the stumps.

Nicholls will also be the cover for Ronchi in the side and has the backing of Hesson who said, “Henry [Nicholls] has shown his talent and versatility with the bat this summer and has also been used as a wicketkeeper for New Zealand A.”

In the Super 10 stage New Zealand are placed along with India, Pakistan, Australia and the winner of the Group A qualifier from among Bangladesh, Ireland, Oman and Netherlands.

New Zealand's campaign in the World T20 will get underway with the first game against India on 15th March to be played in Nagpur.

New Zealand World T20 squad:

Kane Williamson (captain), Martin Guptill, Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Grant Elliott, Corey Anderson, Colin Munro, Luke Ronchi (wkt), Mitchell Santner, Nathan McCullum, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Mitchell McClenaghan, Adam Milne, Ish Sodhi 

© Cricket World 2016