Natwest T20 Blast 2017 - quarter-final clashes finalised

Northamptonshire missed out on the quarter-finals
Northamptonshire missed out on the quarter-finals

As the final round of the Natwest T20 Blast 2017 kicked-off on Friday, the eight teams for the quarter-finals of this edition has been finalised with Leicestershire and Somerset just managing to make it to the top eight.

North Group

A century from Cameron Delport saw Leicestershire post 203 runs at Trent Bridge but it was brilliant final over from Mathew Pillans that saw the team defend sevens runs against Nottinghamshire in the final over that helped them secure the fourth spot in the North Group. Despite, the defeat, Nottinghamshire managed to finish top of the table.

Derbyshire's 48 run win over Worcestershire and Warwickshire's two wicket win over Lancashire helped them secure the second and third position in the table respectively.

South Group

Glamorgan further extended their dominance at the top as they finished with 18 points following a seven wicket win over Middlesex in a rain hit 13 over game while Rikki Clarke's four wicket haul helped Surrey defend 154 runs against Kent by 10 runs and seal a second position finish.

Somerset's 98 run win over Hampshire saw them claim the fourth spot in South Group, edging out Sussex with a Net-Run-Rate difference of 0.068. Hampshire, who were bowled out for 91 runs in the game also made it to the play-off round with 16 points.

Quarter-Final schedule

22nd August - 1st Quarter-Final - Derbyshire vs Hampshire
23rd August - 2nd Quarter-Final - Glamorgan vs Leicestershire
24th August - 3rd Quarter-Final - Nottinghamshire vs Somerset
25th August - 4th Quarter-Final - Surrey vs Warwickshire

© Cricket World 2017