< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Nepal Tri-Nations T20I Series 2021 - Bajaj Pulsar Tri-Nations T20I - All you need to Know; Squads, Fixtures


Nepal, Malaysia and Netherlands are set to resume International Cricket with Nepal being the host of the Tri-Nation T20I series.

The tournament begins on Saturday, April the 17th 2021, and the Finals will be played on Saturday, April the 24th 2021. In the tournament opener, hosts Nepal will take on Netherlands at the Tribhuvan University Stadium.


What to expect from the teams:


The Netherlands:

Associate Nations have not played any International Cricket since the time Coronavirus pandemic put everything to a halt in March last year. More specifically, the Dutch side have not played any International T20I Game since ICC World Twenty20 World Cup Qualifier in November 2019, which they ended up winning. Despite lack of game practice, Netherlands are certainly the major title contenders. 

For the tournament, Netherlands have left out an experienced Ryan Ten Doeschate along with the former South African All-Rounder Reolef Van Der Merve, both of whom participated in the Everest Cricket League and know the conditions here well. Netherlands will certainly miss their presence but the squad looks quite good with few youngsters getting their chance at the International stage.

Pieter Seelar will lead the Dutch side that features the likes of Ben Cooper, Max O’ Dowd, Paul Van Meekeren and Bas de Leede. All of these are very talented young players and will be eager to leave a mark in the tournament.



Nepal had a forgettable last International outing in the Asia Cup Twenty20 Qualifiers. They were hot favourites to seal their place among the top two positions. However, they lost to Hong Kong as well as Malaysia to finish fourth in the Qualifiers.

Despite failures in the recent past, Nepal side look very strong on paper and are led by Gyanendra Malla in his second year as the skipper. The upcoming Tri-Nation provides a brilliant opportunity for the hosts to redeem themselves.

Paras Khadka will play an important role in Nepal’s progress through the tournament. The global icon Sandeep Lamichhane has been included in the squad and he would be eager to leave an impact playing on home soil. Under the new coach Dave Whatmore, Nepal side would want to spring out a surprise or two in the tournament.



Malaysian side have improved immensely in the recent past and it reflected in their performances in 2020. They beat Nepal during the ACC Eastern Region Twenty20 Asia Cup Qualifiers and prior to that, they clean swept Hongkong in a bilateral Twenty20 International series.

Malaysia will be fielding the same squad that beat Nepal in the Asia Cup Qualifiers with Ahmad Faiz as their captain. The top order of Malaysia looks quite strong with the presence of Virandeep Singh, Anwar Arudin and Syed Aziz. With the ball, Pavandeep Singh and Sharvin Muniandy will be eager to leave a huge impact.

We are in for a very exciting display of cricket by the very exciting associate cricket members.




Nepal Squad: Gyanendra Malla (captain), Dipendra Singh Airee (vice captain), Paras Khadka, Binod Bhandari, Sompal Kami, Karan KC, Sandip Lamichhane, Abhinash Bohara, Aarif Sheikh, Aasif Sheikh, Kushal Bhurtel, Kushal Malla, Shahab Alam, Kamal Singh Airee, Sushan Bhari. 

Netherlands Squad:   Pieter Seelaar (c), Tobias Visee, Max O’Dowd, Ben Cooper, Bas de Leede, Vikramjit Singh, Scott Edwards, Philippe Boissevain, Paul van Meekeren, Vivian Kingma, Aryan Dutt, Sebastiaan Braat, Tony Staal, Julian de Mey

Malaysia Squad: Ahmad Faiz Noor (Captain), Virandeep Singh, Syed Aziz Bin Syed Mubarak, Sharvin Muniandy, Anwar Arudin, Mohd Shafiq Sharif, Ainool Hafizs, Aminudin Ramly, Muhammad Anwar Rahman, Syazrul Ezat Idrus, Muhammad Wafiq, Pavandeep Singh, Fitri Sham, Khizar Hayat Durani and Dhivendran Mogan




1st Match, Kirtipur, Nepal Tri Nation T20I Series 17 April 2021, 1PM


2nd Match, Kirtipur, Nepal Tri Nation T20I Series 18 April 2021, 12PM


3rd Match, Kirtipur, Nepal Tri Nation T20I Series 19 April 2021, 1PM


4th Match, Kirtipur, Nepal Tri Nation T20I Series 20 April 2021, 1PM


5th Match, Kirtipur, Nepal Tri Nation T20I Series 21 April 2021, 12PM


6th Match, Kirtipur, Nepal Tri Nation T20I Series22 April 2021, 1PM


FINAL, Kirtipur, Nepal Tri Nation T20I Series24 April 2021, 1PM


©Cricket World 2021