< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Netherlands beat PNG by 7 wickets in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier final

Netherlands beat PNG in final
Netherlands beat PNG in final

The Netherlands sealed the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier 2019 title with a seven-wicket triumph over Papua New Guinea at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

Full Scorecard

Netherlands won by 7 wickets

Papua New Guinea 128/8 (19.6 Ov)

Netherlands 134/3 (18.6 Ov)

Using a mix of pace and wily orthodox slow bowling, Netherlands’ attack of Brandon Glover (three for 24), Roelof van der Merwe (two for 15) and Timm van der Gugten (two for 18) undid PNG’s batsmen, never allowing them to up the run rate aside from a final over blitz from Jason Kila (27 not out).

Lega Siaka scored 36 but their effort of 128 for eight from 20 overs never looked enough and so it proved when the Dutch batsmen arrived at the crease.

Ben Cooper (41) settled any nerves there may have been with a 33-ball knock of 41, including four fours and two sixes, before Colin Ackermann and Ryan ten Doeschate saw the team home with seven wickets and an over to spare.

Netherlands ended on a score of 134 for three from 19 overs as PNG finished second.

As a result of the final tournament standings, the first round groupings for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2020 are now confirmed with PNG, Ireland and Oman in Group A with Sri Lanka. Group B will see the Netherlands, Namibia and Scotland join Bangladesh.

 Netherlands - Max O'Dowd, Tobias Visee, Ben Cooper, Colin Ackermann, Ryan ten Doeschate, Pieter Seelaar(c), Roelof van der Merwe, Scott Edwards(wk), Timm van der Gugten, Paul van Meekeren, Brandon Glover

Papua New Guinea - Assad Vala(c), Tony Ura, Lega Siaka, Charles Amini, Sese Bau, Riley Hekure

Kiplin Doriga(wk), Norman Vanua, Jason Kila, Damien Ravu, Nosaina Pokana

Match Details

Start Time: 15:30

Toss: Papua New Guinea won the toss and decided to bat

Venue: Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai

Officials: Ahsan Raza, Sam Nogajski, Sharfuddoula Saikat, Jeffrey Crowe

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier 2019 leading positions:


Winners: Netherlands

2nd: PNG
3rd: Ireland
4th: Namibia
5th: Scotland    
6th: Oman

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2020 first round groups:

Group A

Sri Lanka

Group B


Four teams from the first round will advance to the Super12s, joining Afghanistan, Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa and the West Indies.

©Cricket World 2019