Netherlands Beat Scotland In Opener


Netherlands 252-9 (Swart 62) beat
Scotland 208 (Gardiner 52) by 44 runs
First one-day game, Glasgow

The Netherlands defended a score of 252 for nine to defeat Scotland by 44 runs in the first of three one-day games between the two sides in Glasgow.

Scotland were bowled out for 208 in 45 overs in reply, collapsing from 157 for two to lose eight wickets for 51 runs.

Batting first, Mitchell Swart hit 62 in 84 balls at the top of the order to lay the foundations for the Dutch innings.

Around him, contributions from Stephan Myburgh (13) and Eric Szwarczynski (29) helped keep the scoreboard moving although Scotland kept them in check as Josh Davey and Michael Leask both grabbed a brace of wickets.

However, their work was partly undone by Michael Rippon, who hit a quickfire 49 not out in 47 balls to steer the Netherlands to a competitive total, and one that was impressive considering they had been reduced to 175 for eight and 208 for nine.

In contrast to Scotland's collapse later in the day, the Dutch added 93 runs for their final three wickets with Pieter Seelaar (11), Ahsan Malik (12) and Paul van Meekeren (14 not out) playing their part.

Alasdair Evans, Iain Wardlaw, Safyaan Sharif and Majid Haq took a wicket apiece.

Like the first innings of the game, Scotland made a solid start through Kyle Coetzer (15), Calum MacLeod (37), Hamish Gardiner (52) and Preston Mommsen (45).

However, after the 77-run stand between Gardiner and Mommsen was broken for the third wicket, things began to slip dramatically for the home side.

Five balls later, Mommsen followed Gardiner back to the pavilion and three balls after that Richie Berrington fell for a two-ball duck.

The Netherlands' four premier bowlers - Mudassar Bukhari (3-21), Malik (2-34), van Meekeren (3-40) and Seelaar (2-42) prospered against Scotland's lower order.

Leask (8), Davey (12), Sharif (4), Wardlaw (5) and Evans (3) all fell cheaply to hand the Dutch victory with five overs to spare.

The second game in the series is tomorrow (2nd July).

© Cricket World 2014