< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Netherlands beat Zimbabwe in 1st ODI by 7 wickets (D/L)

Brendan Taylor 71 for Zimbabwe

Zimbabwe won the toss and decided to bat against the Netherlands at the Sportpark Het Schootsveld, Deventer today in the 1st ODI.


Match Summary

Zimbabwe 204-8 (Brendan Taylor 71, Kyle Jarvis 31*; Fredrick Klaassen 2-29, Paul van Meekeren 2-30, Pieter Seelaar 2-32)

Netherlands 207-3 (Max O'Dowd 87*, Wesley Barresi 39*; Sean Williams 2-38)

Result – Netherlands won by 7 wickets (D/L)


Batting first, Zimbabwe scored 204-8 in their allotted 47 overs D/L (due to a late start because of rain). Brendan Taylor 71 top scored for Zimbabwe and Fredrick Klaassen 2-29, Paul van Meekeren 2-30 and skipper Pieter Seelaar 2-32 were the stars with the ball for the Netherlands.

In reply, the Netherlands romped home in the run chase, scoring 207-3 in 42.5 overs - Max O'Dowd 87* and Wesley Barresi 39* top scored and Sean Williams 2-38 was the pick of the Zimbabwe bowlers.

2nd ODI is a day/night match on Friday



Netherlands - Pieter Seelaar(c), Scott Edwards(wk), Bas de Leede, Ben Cooper, Vivian Kingma, Tobias Visee, Max O'Dowd, Fredrick Klaassen, Paul van Meekeren, Wesley Barresi, Roelof van der Merwe

Zimbabwe - Hamilton Masakadza(c), Solomon Mire, Craig Ervine, Brendan Taylor(wk), Donald Tiripano, Tendai Chatara, Sikandar Raza, Kyle Jarvis, Ainsley Ndlovu, Peter Moor, Sean Williams