Netherlands Name 15-Man World Cup Squad

Netherlands Name 15-Man World Cup Squad
Netherlands Name 15-Man World Cup Squad
©Action Images / Steven Paston

The Netherlands have named their 15-man squad for the 2011 World Cup well ahead of the International Cricket Council's (ICC) deadline of 19th January.

Their squad will be led by Peter Borren and includes Essex's Ryan ten Doeschate, South Australia's Tom Cooper and Worcestershire's Alexei Kervezee and they begin their campaign against England on 22nd February in Nagpur.

They will go on to play the West Indies, South Africa, India, Bangladesh and Ireland in their group having qualified for their fourth World Cup.

“We have selected a squad of players with a strong track record in limited overs cricket either for Netherlands or in the domestic game," selector Darrin Murray explained.

“Recent series have shown we have made progress in one-day cricket (defeating Bangladesh and Zimbabwe in 2010) and
we will be looking to continue this form during the Cricket World Cup.

“The squad also includes three younger players (Wesley Barresi, Berend Westdijk and Bradley Kruger) who have forced their way into the main squad during the year on the basis of their commitment to improve and results on the park.

"The selectors will continue to balance the inclusion of players based outside the Netherlands with developing local talent.

"Mark and Maurits Jonkman were both not available for selection as they are going through an action re-modelling program and there is insufficient time to complete this program before the start of the World Cup. They are making very good progress under the specialised coaching of Neil Killeen and are aiming for them to be part of our playing program in the CB40 competition.

"Nick Statham and Ruud Nijman were also unavailable for selection due to work commitments and injury. The three reserve players above have been placed on standby in case of injury."

Netherlands World Cup squad: Peter Borren (captain), Wesley Barresi, Mudassar Bukhari, Atse Buurman, Tom Cooper, Tom de Grooth, Alexei Kervezee, Bradley Kruger, Bernard Loots, Adeel Raja, Pieteer Seelaar, Eric Szwarczynski, Ryan ten Doeschate, Berend Westdijk, Bas Zuiderent

Reserves: Tom Heggelman, Andrew Hoogstraten, Mohammad Kashif

© Cricket World 2010

YouTube Button