Netherlands Through To Semi-Finals Despite Loss

The Dutch were able to celebrate a semi-final spot despite losing to Pakistan.
©ICC / Ian Jacobs

Netherlands won the battle with Thailand to progress to the semi-finals of the ICC Women’s World T20 qualifier in Ireland. Both sides lost their final group games but the Dutch had the superior net run-rate and will join Ireland, Sri Lanka and Pakistan in the last four. Thailand join Canada, Japan and Zimbabwe in the plate competition.

The Netherlands lost out by 20 runs to Pakistan in a reduced-overs affair in Dublin. They won the toss and had Pakistan one for two in the second over but they rallied to post 72 for four. Nain Abidi hit an unbeaten 38 off 27 balls and added 60 in 39 balls with Bismah Maroof (25 off 17 balls) for the third-wicket. Mariska Kornet was the pick of the Dutch attack with two for eight from her two overs.

The Netherlands never really threatened the target and limped to 52 for five. Miranda Veringmeier (12), Helmien Rambado (15) and Tessa van der Gun (11) all reached double figures, but there were three run-outs as well as a wicket apiece for Sumaiya Siddiqi (1-9) and Sana Mir (1-8).

Sri Lanka beat hosts Ireland to top Group B and secure a more favourable semi-final opponent. Sripali Weerakkody and Shashikala Siriwardene each took a brace of wickets as Ireland could manage only a paltry 62 for nine from their 20 overs. Number 11 Elena Tice was one of only two batters to reach double figures and top-scored with 14 during a 10th-wicket partnership of 23 with Louise McCarthy (7). Sri Lanka then knocked off the runs for the loss of just Chamari Atapattu (10) and Yasoda Mendis (20) and in less than 15 overs. Deepika Rasangika ended on 22 not out.

Christabel Chatonzwa took four for 12 as Thailand could muster just 74 in reply to Zimbabwe’s 103 for eight and thus saw their hopes of qualifying for the ICC Women’s World T20 evaporate. Skipper Somnarin Tippoch was the only batter to reach double figures and made 24, while extras contributed a further 23. Besides Chatonzwa, there were two wickets each for Sharyce Saili and Sharne Mayers.

Nonhlanhla Nyathi had earlier top scored for Zimabwe with 28, while Nattaya Boochatham, Tippoch and Ratanaporn Padunglerd each took two wickets.

Canada avoided the Group B wooden spoon by defeating Japan. They overcame a stuttering start that saw them slip to 46 for five to win by five wickets. Mai Yanagida had taken two wickets after Japan had notched up 97 for five after being asked to bat, while Suthershini Sivanantham held firm with 32 off 41 balls. However, it was left to Durriya Shabbir (36 not out off 31) and Sheryl Tittlemeier (10 off 16) to see Canada home with an unbroken sixth-wicket partnership of 54. Japan had earlier struggled with the bat, but benefited from 28 extras to post a competitive total.

Both the plate and main semi-finals take place on Monday, with the line-up confirmed as follows:

1st semi-final, Ireland v Pakistan (0900 GMT start)

2nd semi-final, Netherlands v Sri Lanka (1300)
1st plate semi-final, Japan v Zimbabwe (0900)
2nd plate semi-final, Canada v Thailand (1300)

The finals will be held on Wednesday, along with the all-important third-place play-off.

© Cricket World 2013

Fixtures & Results

23rd July: Ireland v Japan

IRE 170-1 beat JAP 53 by 117 runs
23rd July: Netherlands v Zimbabwe

NED 95-7 beat ZIM 92-9 by 3 runs
23rd July: Sri Lanka v Canada

SRI 47-1 beat CAN 44 by 9 wickets
23rd July: Pakistan v Thailand

PAK 145-6 beat THA 76-8 by 69 runs
25th July: Thailand v Netherlands

THA 85-4 beat NED 84-5 by 6 wickets
25th July: Canada v Ireland

IRE 146-7 beat CAN 69 by 77 runs
25th July: Zimbabwe v Pakistan

PAK 142-4 beat ZIM 70-9 by 72 runs
25th July: Japan v Sri Lanka

SRI 22-0 beat JAP 21 by 10 wickets
27th July: Thailand v Zimbabwe

ZIM 103-8 beat THA 74 by 29 runs
27th July: Pakistan v Netherlands

PAK 72-4 beat NED 52-5 by 20 runs
27th July: Japan v Canada

CAN 100-5 beat JAP 97-5 by 5 wickets
27th July: Ireland v Sri Lanka

SRI 63-2 beat IRE 62-9 by 8 wickets
29th July: Trophy & Shield Semi-FInals

PAK 66-1 beat IRE 65 by 9 wickets
SRI 157-6 beat NED 51-4 by 33 runs
ZIM 59-7 beat JAP 58 by 3 wickets
THA 92-6 beat CAN 79-8 by 13 runs
31st July: Finals and play-offs

Final: Pakistan v Sri Lanka
3rd/4th: Ireland v Netherlands
Shield: Thailand v Zimbabwe
7th/8th: Canada v Japan