< >
Cricket Betting us

New Leadership Elected for Border Cricket

New Leadership Elected for Border Cricket
New Leadership Elected for Border Cricket

Outgoing President Tando Ganda concluded his innings last night, when his term came to an end as President of Border Cricket at the Border Cricket Annual General Meeting.

Based in Alice, Mr Ganda joined Schools’ cricket as a coach while teaching in the Middledrift, Mdantsane and Alice regions. While busy with schools’ cricket, he served as secretary of the Alice Cricket Board and then its President for more than 10 years.

Ganda joined the Border Cricket Board in 2002, where he served on various board committees. He then served as Deputy President of Border Cricket from 2007 until 2013 and was elected President of Border Cricket in 2013. He is also a Non-Independent Director for the Cricket Eastern Cape franchise (Warriors).

The Members Council thanked Mr Ganda for his liberal Leadership and for his long-serving service to Border Cricket over decades.

Mr Simphiwe Ndzundzu was the only nomination for the position of President and is no stranger to the Border Structures. Previously a selector for Border Cricket, he has been involved with Good Hope Cricket Club for many years and was the Chairman of the King Williams Town Members Structure. He is a keen sportsman and has participated in several marathons including the Comrades Marathon. He is a forensic auditor by profession. He has also been the Vice-President for the past six years.

Successful voting took place for the Vice-President position and Mr Ngqaleko Rubushe was elected into this position. Mr Rubushe, used to be an Executive Members of the then, Border Cricket Board and has been the Chairman of the East London West structure and been an integral part of the Club Cricket Committee for several years.

Dr Zandisile Dweba, an Independent Director and Chairman of HR, also had his term come to an end. He will be replaced by Ms Thenji Ntoni who has been his understudy and an alternate Director for the past few years.

The full list of Directors who will serve for the next three years will be as follows:

Simphiwe Ndzundzu (President of the Members Council), Ngqaleko Rubushe (Vice-President of the Members Council), Rev. Cyril Hartland (Non-Independent Director), Mr Mfundo Macanda (Non-Independent Director), Ms Penny Elworthy (Independent Director), Adv. John Korkie (Independent Director), Mr Bonisa Ngcongca (Independent Director), Ms Lauren Brady (Independent Director) and Thenjiswa Ntoni (Independent Director)

© Cricket World 2019