Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

New T20 competition will benefit England cricket - Eoin Morgan

Eoin Morgan has come in full support of the new T20 contest being planned by ECB
Eoin Morgan has come in full support of the new T20 contest being planned by ECB

England limited overs skipper Eoin Morgan has backed the new Twenty20 competition being worked by England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) to be successful.

The tournament which has been drafted similar to the Indian Premier League and Big Bash League formats, will have a team each from eight cities and for the first time in 130 years, the 18 first-class counties are set to be excluded.

It is learnt that the teams might be picked from the following cities - North London, South London, West, Red Rose, White Rose, Birmingham, Trent Bridge and South and the tournament will be spanned across 38 days with 36 games in total.

When asked on whether the proposed format will hamper the progress of county cricket in England, Morgan said: "I don't think it will damage county cricket at all.

"It's not a gamble. It's proven in other countries that it is possible to have it all. We are never going to lose our core cricket fans."

The counties have been asked to allow a change in ECB constitution that says any competition introduced by the board must be open to all. In return each county would receive a financial inducement of 1.3 million pounds ($1.63 million) annually for five years.

On Tuesday, the ECB confirmed in a release that they received an unanimous support from the board members to trigger the process.

"And so even if this doesn't work, we can always go back. Although I think it will," Morgan added.

"Change is always difficult but I don't see this as change. It probably should have happened a while ago. The purpose of this tournament will be to grow the game."

The tournament is aimed to kick-start in 2020 and will be the second T20 competition conducted in England after Natwest T20 Blast.

© Cricket World 2017