< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

New Zealand announce initial squad of nine players for India series

James Neesham misses out on the selection
James Neesham misses out on the selection

New Zealand selectors have named nine players out of the 15-player squad for the upcoming One-Day International series against India.

The remaining six players of the squad will be announced following the conclusion of New Zealand A tour of India that is currently in progress.

The squad that is captained by Kane Williamson sees Martin Guptill and Tom Latham in the opening role with veteran batsman Ross Taylor being the mainstay of the middle order. All-rounders Mitchell Santner and Colin de Grandhomme have retained their places along with the pace trio of Tim Southee, Adam Milne and Trent Boult.

There have been significant changes from the Black Caps squad that toured England for the Champions Trophy tournament with James Neesham and Neil Broom missing out while Luke Ronchi and Jeetan Patel have announced retirement.

Corey Anderson is continuing his rehabilitation from a back injury while Mitchell McClenaghan has opted out of the national contract to pursue his career in domestic T20 leagues around the world.

Ish Sodhi, who picked a five-wicket haul during the four day game against India A in Vijayawada is likely to occupy the second spinner slot after Santner while Latham is expected to don the wicket-keeping role.

New Zealand coach Mike Hesson insisted that the experience of playing in Indian conditions will prove vital when they face Virat Kohli's men next month.

"The nine we've picked have made up the core of our ODI team for a while and all of them have experience playing in India," he quipped.

"With a number of our top guys already playing in India, it's helpful to be able to select the squad in two parts. With six spots left, there's an obvious incentive for the players in New Zealand A to perform and put their best foot forward."

The two teams will play three each of ODIs and T20Is between 22nd October and 7th November.

New Zealand's nine-man squad:

Kane Williamson (capt), Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Tom Latham, Adam Milne, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor

© Cricket World 2017