New Zealand Cricket Names Contracted Player List

New Zealand Cricket Names Contracted Player List
New Zealand Cricket Names Contracted Player List
©REUTERS/Anthony Phelps (NEW ZEALAND - Tags: SPORT CRICKET) Picture Supplied by Action Images

New Zealand Cricket (NZC) have revealed their list of 20 contracted players for the 2011-12 season, handing central contracts to four new players.

Reece Young, Rob Nicol, Trent Boult and Luke Woodcock earn contracts for the first time while Daniel Flynn and Neil Broom are handed contracts having missed out last season. Hamish Bennett is awarded a full contract having earned an elevated contract last season.

Those missing out on contracts that were on the list last year are Brent Arnel, James Franklin, Gareth Hopkins, Tim McIntosh, Jeetan Patel and Daryl Tuffey while James Franklin and Jamie How, who received elevated contracts in February also miss out.

Having retired from international cricket Scott Styris was not considered and is the other omission from last year's list.

"Seven changes to the contracted list highlights the fact that there are a number of quality cricketers contesting for the top twenty contracts.  That kind of competitiveness is good for our cricket," acting National Selection Manager Mark Greatbatch commented.

"There is a good mix of experienced players and promising talent in a list that recognises strong domestic performances as well as good international form.

"Trent Boult receives his first NZC contract after being in and around the team for some time and showing consistent domestic form and good development during the recent fast bowling camps.

"Rob Nicol, who topped the overall domestic MVP table last year, is a good example of a player who has forced his way into the list on the back of a strong domestic season.

"Reece Young, Hamish Bennett and Luke Woodcock started international cricket last season and made the most of their opportunities and are likely to feature prominently in the year ahead.

"Both Daniel Flynn and Neil Broom have worked hard to develop their game after missing out on an NZC contract last year and their inclusion is a clear indication to all players that the door is never closed.

"As always, there were some tough decisions and some players with decent international records have missed out.  Those players can play their way back into the reckoning by performing at domestic level."

New Zealand contracted players list 2011-12: Hamish Bennett, Trent Boult, Neil Broom, Daniel Flynn, Martin Guptill, Chris Martin, Brendon McCullum, Nathan McCullum, Andy McKay, Kyle Mills, Rob Nicol, Jacob Oram, Jesse Ryder, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Daniel Vettori, BJ Watling, Kane Williamson, Luke Woodcock, Reece Young

© Cricket World 2011