< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

New Zealand crush India by 80 runs in 1st T20I of the series

Colin Munro 34 for New Zealand today in the T20I against India

India won the toss and decided to bowl against New Zealand at the Westpac Stadium, Wellington today in the 1st T20I of the series.

Match Summary

New Zealand 219 – 6 (Tim Seifert 84,Colin Munro 34, Kane Williamson 34; Hardik Pandya 2-51, Yuzvendra Chahal 1-35)

India 139 (MS Dhoni 39; Tim Southee 3-17, Lockie Ferguson 2-22, Ish Sodhi 2-26, Mitchell Santner 2-24)

Result - New Zealand won by 80 runs


Asked to bat first, New Zealand batsmen Tim Seifert 84, Colin Munro 34 and Kane Williamson 34 battered the India bowlers to a big total of 219 – 6 in their 20 overs. Hardik Pandya 2-51 and Yuzvendra Chahal 1-35 were the pick of the bowlers for India.

In reply, India were never really in the run chase after the fall of Vijay Shankar 27, in the 9th over, with India 65-4.

India eventually all out for 139, New Zealand winning by 80 runs – a top all round performance from the New Zealand bowlers - Tim Southee 3-17, Lockie Ferguson 2-22, Ish Sodhi 2-26 and Mitchell Santner 2-24.

There are two more T20Is in the series –

Feb 08 New Zealand v India, 2nd T20I Eden Park, Auckland

Feb 10 New Zealand v India, 3rd T20I Seddon Park, Hamilton


New Zealand - Tim Seifert(wk), Colin Munro, Kane Williamson(c), Daryl Mitchell, Ross Taylor, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Scott Kuggeleijn, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Lockie Ferguson

India - Rohit Sharma(c), Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Vijay Shankar, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni(wk), Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Khaleel Ahmed

©Cricket World 2019