< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results
Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

New Zealand decimate Sri Lanka by 10 wickets on a green top at Cardiff

New Zealand’s Colin Munro and Martin Guptill celebrate at the end of the match

First, it was Pakistan who were dismissed cheaply, so much so that the match was over within 36 overs. Sri Lanka have tried to give their subcontinental peers a tough fight, at least on this front, getting dismissed within 46 overs.

Match Summary

Sri Lanka 136/10 (29.2 Overs)  - (Karunaratne(c) 52(84), Kusal Perera(wk) 29(24); Ferguson 3/22, Matt Henry 3/29)

New Zealand 137-0 (16.1 Overs)  - (Guptill 73(51), Munro 58(47); Lakmal 0/28, Udana 0/24)

Result- New Zealand won by 10 wickets


Watch all the Match Highlights here

After Lahiru Thirimanne was dismissed by Matt Henry on the very second ball of the match, Sri Lanka had a small partnership between Dimuth Karunaratne and Kusal Perera. The team was at 46-1 after eight overs and was looking set for a decent score.

However, once Kusal Perera was caught off Matt Henry, the entire batting line up collapsed like a pack of cards. Apart from some resistance from skipper Dimuth Karunaratne, who scored an unbeaten half-century and a 27-run knock from seasoned all-rounder Thisara Perera, there was nothing at all to show in the team's batting line up, as they almost surrendered to some skillful bowling from New Zealand.

After being thrashed to all parts of the park in the warm-up match against West Indies and conceding more than 100 runs, Henry made a statement by taking three wickets. Lockie Ferguson was also on point and bagged three wickets as well on a green top at Cardiff.

In reply, the Sri Lankan bowlers could not pose any serious threat to the the Kiwi opening combination of Martin Guptill and Colin Munro, as both smashed half-centuries to to take their team over the line by 10 wickets. The margin was as comprehensive as it can get as New Zealand swept the game with almost 34 overs to spare.

New Zealand- Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Tom Latham, James Neesham, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Matt Henry, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult

Sri Lanka- Dimuth Karunaratne, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Thisara Perera, Isuru Udana, Jeevan Mendis, Suranga Lakmal, Lasith Malinga

Follow all the action from this ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 match - Complete with match previews, match updates, video stream, match review, comment, photos and player interviews.

©Cricket World 2019