< >
Cricket Betting us

New Zealand include Munro, Watling for Pakistan ODIs

New Zealand include Munro, Watling for Pakistan ODIs
Colin Munro's performances in the shorter format have earned him a place in the ODIs.
©REUTERS / Action Images

New Zealand selectors have picked Colin Munro and BJ Watling in the One-Day International squad for the upcoming series against Pakistan.

It has been almost three years since Watling last played an ODI for New Zealand while Munro's latest appearance in the format was in August 2015 in South Africa.

Kane Williamson will lead the team in the first two ODIs while Brendon McCullum is only expected to recover from his back injury in time for the third game.

Tom Latham will replace McCullum at the top of the order for the first two games while Henry Nicholls also gets another chance.

The bowling attack will be led by Trent Boult, Mitchell McClenaghan, Adam Milne and Matt Henry with Mitchell Santner as the lone spin bowling option in the squad.

Senior fast bowler Tim Southee who suffered a foot injury in December 2015 has been ruled out of both the Pakistan and Australia ODI series. 

Munro was particularly impressive in the recently concluded Twenty20 International series against Pakistan with two fifties including a record breaking 14-ball half-century.

New Zealand coach Mike Hesson stated that Munro’s inclusion was partly due to his form in the T20I series and partly due to his all-round ability.

“Colin was impressive with the bat during the recent Twenty20 series, but he’s also selected on his ability to give us another option with the ball.” 

Corey Anderson and Grant Elliott also make a return to the ODI side after lengthy layoffs due to injuries and Hesson is happy that their inclusion will add experience to the New Zealand middle order.

“With Grant and Corey coming back into the squad, our middle-order has a lot of experience and looks similar to the one we took into last year’s World Cup.” 

Wicket-keeper batsman Luke Ronchi will play the first ODI while he will be replaced by Watling for the second and the third games.

Hesson revealed that Ronchi was being rested ahead of a busy schedule while the inclusion of Watling was to give him another chance in white ball cricket.

“We’ve talked about the importance of creating depth in all positions and bringing BJ into the side for the second and third ODI will give him some time against the white ball.”

Senior batsman Ross Taylor has already been ruled out of the ODI series against Pakistan and Australia after suffering a side-strain in the third T20I on Friday in Wellington.

New Zealand squad for ODI series against Pakistan:

Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Grant Elliott, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Mitchell McClenaghan, Adam Milne, Colin Munro, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Kane Williamson, Luke Ronchi (first ODI), BJ Watling (second and third ODI), Tom Latham (first two ODIs), Brendon McCullum (third ODI).

© Cricket World 2016