New Zealand Level Series After Bangladesh Collapse

New Zealand 212-9 (Oram 75no, Rasel 3-23, Al Hasan 2-19) beat
Bangladesh 137 (Ashraful 40, Mills 3-13, Oram 2-23) by 75 runs
Second One Day International, Mirpur - series level at 1-1

By John Pennington

Jacob Oram hit an unbeaten 75 and then took two wickets as New Zealand beat Bangladesh by 75 runs to level their three-match One Day International series in Mirpur.

New Zealand looked in danger of slumping to a series defeat as they could only manage 212 for nine having been asked to bat first but hit back to dismiss their hosts for 137 with Kyle Mills picking up three for 13.

Just as they had in the opening match, which they lost by seven wickets, Oram top scored with a battling half-century, hitting 75 including five fours and four sixes coming to the crease with his side at 86 for five.

Left-armer Syed Rasel took three for 23 with the wickets of Jesse Ryder (30), Brendon McCullum (12) and Jamie How (nought) while opening partner Mashrafe Mortaza had Scott Styris caught by Junaid Siddique for a duck.

Then it was over to spinners Abdur Razzak, Shakib Al Hasan and Naeem Islam to pile on the misery for the Black Caps although Razzaq disappeared for 68 from his ten overs, Shakib and Naeem took two wickets apiece before Tim Southee was run out in the 45th over.

Bangladesh lost Tamim Iqbal for a duck without a run on the board, trapped in front by Mills and the pace man swiftly removed Mushfiqur Rahim, bowled for 11. Bangladesh hit back with a 53-run partnership between Junaid Siddique (32) and Mohammad Ashraful (40) but once those two were dismissed by Tim Southee and Oram respectively, the wheels fell off.

Shakib Al Hasan hit 10 and Mashrafe Mortaza a late 27 but three men were run out, including Naeem Islam without facing with Mills and Oram cleaning up the tail to set up the deciding match in Chittagong in three days time.

New Zealand introduced Jeetan Patel as a second spinning option at the expense of Mark Gillespie while Bangladesh named an unchanged team.

© Cricket World 2008