Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

New Zealand march on after Ish Sodhi four-fer

New Zealand march on after Ish Sodhi four-fer
Ish Sodhi (left) picked four wicket on day two.
©REUTERS / Action Images

New Zealanders 345-7 & 154-4 (Santner 51) v
Zimbabwe A 114 (Williams 55)
Tour Match, day two, Harare

Led by early strikes by the pace bowlers and a four-wicket haul by Ish Sodhi, New Zealand dismissed Zimbabwe A for 114 runs in 49.5 overs and went on to post 154 for four in the second innings to claim a lead of 385 runs by the end of the second day of the tour game in Harare.

New Zealand declared on their overnight score of 345 for seven. Zimbabwe A were rattled early in the game as Tino Mawoyo (0) retired hurt in the first over and Vusi Sibanda (0) and Nkosana Mpofu (0) fell in rapid succession to Tim Southee (2-31) and Trent Boult (1-15).

Sikandar Raza (27) and Sean Williams (55) rebuilt the innings steadily and safely took Zimbabwe A to 68 for two at lunch. The 75-run stand between Raza and Williams was broken early in the second session with the dismissal of the latter.

After Williams completed his fifty, Doug Bracewell (2-24) dismissed him in the 36th over and followed it up with the wicket of Tarisai Musakanda (5) an over later.

Ish Sodhi (4-18) accounted for Regis Chakabva (9) in the 44th over and followed it up with a triple strike in the 50th over to bowl Zimbabwe out for 114.

After posting an opening partnership of 60 runs along with Mitchell Santner (51), Tom Latham (24) retired out in the 15th over.

Santner struck a total of nine fours and a six in his 49-ball stay and retired soon after completing a fifty.

Tapiwa Mufudza (1-47) trapped Neil Wagner (9) lbw but Tim Southee (29) and Kane Williamson (37 not out) put on a stand of 47-runs.

Southee fell after a cameo but Williamson and Bracewell (4 not out) took New Zealand to 154 for four from 40 overs at the end of day two.

At stumps, New Zealand lead Zimbabwe A by 385 runs with six wickets in hand.

© Cricket World 2016