< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

New Zealand name Tom Latham captain for tri-series

Tom Latham will captain the side in the tri-series
Tom Latham will captain the side in the tri-series

New Zealand opening batsman Tom Latham has been named as the captain for the upcoming One-Day International tri-series which also has Bangladesh and Ireland.

The decision comes after 10 players including regular skipper Kane Williamson will continue to be part of the Indian Premier League (IPL) tournament which kicked-off on Wednesday.

Apart from Williamson, Martin Guptill, Trent Boult, Tim Southee, Adam Milne, Mitchell McClenaghan, Lockie Ferguson, Corey Anderson, Matt Henry and Colin de Grandhomme are the other players, who are part of the lucrative T20 league and are expected to join the New Zealand squad once their commitments with the IPL is over.

Northern Districts all-rounder Scott Kuggeleijn and Central Districts quick bowler Seth Rance are the two uncapped players in the side while Hamish Bennett, Henry Nicholls, Colin Munro, and George Worker have earned a recall.

Kuggeleijn picked 11 wickets in his last three Plunket Shield games while Rance racked up 13 wickets in the same amount of games.

Also Ross Taylor will be returning to the squad after recovering from the injury that he sustained during the first Test against South Africa in Dunedin while off-spinner Jeetan Patel will join the squad in the fourth game.

New Zealand squad for tri-series

Tom Latham (captain), Hamish Bennett, Neil Broom, Scott Kuggeleijn, Colin Munro, James Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Jeetan Patel, Seth Rance, Luke Ronchi, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, George Worker

© Cricket World 2017