< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

New Zealand name unchanged squad for series decider

Ross Taylor missed the second Test in Wellington as well
Ross Taylor missed the second Test in Wellington as well

New Zealand have named an unchanged 14-man squad for the third and final Test against South Africa that kicks off on 25th March at Seddon Park in Hamilton.

The news also means veteran batsman Ross Taylor has failed to recover from the calf injury that he sustained during the first game of the series in Dunedin.

Meanwhile, Trent Boult, who missed the second Test in Wellington due to a upper leg injury is expected to be fit in time for the series deciding final game.

New Zealand chief selector Gavin Larsen said he is confident of the team's ability to bounce back despite their defeat in Wellington.

"We've decided to go with the same unit," said Larsen.

"We've got 100 percent faith in the fact we think we've got the best group of test cricketers in the country and we've got a test match to win in Hamilton."

With South Africa claiming an unassailable lead of 1-0 following their eight-wicket win in the second Test at Basin Reserve, New Zealand will need to win the final game in Hamilton to level the series.

New Zealand squad for final Test:

Kane Williamson (captain), Tom Latham, Jeet Raval, Neil Broom, Henry Nicholls, Jimmy Neesham, BJ Watling, Mitchell Santner, Colin de Grandhomme, Tim Southee, Jeetan Patel, Neil Wagner, Trent Boult, Matt Henry.

© Cricket World 2017