New Zealand Recall Brownlie And Flynn For Final Test

New Zealand Recall Brownlie And Flynn For Final Test
New Zealand Recall Brownlie And Flynn For Final Test
©REUTERS / Action Images

New Zealand have recalled batsman Daniel Flynn and all-rounder Dean Brownlie to their 14-man squad for the third and final Test against South Africa, which gets underway in Wellington on 23rd March.

The pair replace Rob Nicol and Brent Arnel, who both featured in New Zealand's nine-wicket defeat in the second Test which leaves them having to win the final game to tie the three-match series.

Brownlie missed the opening two Tests with a fractured finger but after his a recovery is an instant returnee to the squad while Flynn last played for New Zealand in December 2009.

Weight of runs for Northern Districts in first-class cricket has earnt him another chance at the top level.

"Daniel Flynn is having a very successful Plunket Shield with the bat for Northern and is likely to join Martin Guptill at the top of the order," National Selection Manager Kim Littlejohn said.

"He was part of the team in late 2009 and we are sure he will make the most of his opportunity to again represent his country.

"We are mindful that Dean Brownlie is only just making a return to competitive cricket following injury and will keep a close eye on his progress. 

"Although he has been included in the squad, his selection for the Test will largely depend on how he pulls through the match for Canterbury.

"It's disappointing for Rob and Brent but at this stage we do not feel they have managed to cement their place in the squad.  Both players will benefit from a return to domestic cricket where they can put performances on the board. 

"We are sure they will do this and will be very much in contention for selection on the upcoming tour to the West Indies."

New Zealand Test squad: Ross Taylor (captain), Trent Boult, Doug Bracewell, Dean Brownlie, Andrew Ellis, Daniel Flynn, Mark Gillespie, Martin Guptill, Chris Martin, Brendon McCullum, Tarun Nethula, Kruger van Wyk, Daniel Vettori, Kane Williamson

© Cricket World 2012