< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

New Zealand recall Corey Anderson for ODI series against India

New Zealand recall Corey Anderson for ODI series against India
Corey Anderson last played for New Zealand during the World T20 in India
©REUTERS / Action Images

New Zealand have picked all-rounder Corey Anderson as a specialist batsman in the squad for the One-Day Internationals against India to be played next month.

Anderson, whose last professional game was against England in the 2016 World Twenty20 semi-final returns from a back injury.

New Zealand selector Gavin Larsen said that the team was excited to have Anderson back in the squad and added that the selectors will continue to monitor his progress in the bowling department.

“Corey’s superb professionalism throughout his rehab process has led to this point, and it’s a credit to him and the hard work he’s put in,” Larsen said in a news release.

“We’re excited to have Corey back. He provides power through the middle-order and knows the conditions in India well.

“He’s still working on his bowling and we’ll continue to monitor that.”

Meanwhile, New Zealand have dropped Henry Nicholls as they opted to pick an extra wicket-keeper in BJ Watling as a cover for Luke Ronchi.

Anton Devcich, who last played for New Zealand in December 2014, has also been called up to the ODI squad as an additional spin-bowling all-rounder option.

Larsen reasoned that the selectors decided to opt for covers in all departments as the conditions in India will be quite testing for the players.

“India conditions are known to be quite harsh, so it’s really important that we have cover for all positions,” Larsen added.

“Luke Ronchi and BJ Watling provide us with wicketkeeping and middle-order cover, while Anton (Devcich) is another spin option for us and can bat anywhere in the order.”

In the fast bowling department, Tim Southee, Matt Henry, Trent Boult and Doug Bracewell will vie for the spots in the playing XI while Ross Taylor also returns after missing out on the 2016 Chappell-Hadlee series earlier this year with a side strain.

Kane Williamson will lead the side while Martin Guptill, Taylor and Tom Latham will form the core of the top order.

The five-match ODI series between India and New Zealand will get underway with the first encounter on 16th October in Dharamsala.

New Zealand Squad for India ODIs: Kane Williamson (capt), Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Doug Bracewell, Anton Devcich, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, James Neesham, Luke Ronchi, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, BJ Watling.

© Cricket World 2016