New Zealand Recall Satterthwaite, Tahuhu

Lea Tahuhu bowls
Lea Tahuhu is back in the New Zealand squad as they prepare to tou the West Indies
©International Cricket Council

New Zealand Women have recalled experienced pair Amy Satterthwaite and Lea Tahuhu for their upcoming limited overs tour of the West Indies.

Neither Satterthwaite nor Tahuhu were given one of 10 central contracts awarded earlier this month but are back in the squad which will play four One-Day Internationals and three Twenty20 Internationals.

The pair replace Katey Martin and France Mackay and the squad is otherwise unchanged from the one which finished fifth in the ICC Women's World Twenty20 in Bangladesh.

While Satterthwaite has played 110 times for New Zealand and Tahuhu 27, both last played for the White Ferns in October 2013.

Head coach Hamish Barton explained that Satterthwaite and Tahuhu have earned their recalls having been asked to work on specific areas of their game.

"We gave Amy and Lea some areas to work on and we’ve been really impressed with their commitment to do what has been asked of them," he said.

"Both of them have shown in the past that they’re world class and they’ve still got a lot to offer. They’ve worked incredibly hard to get back in the side and I’m confident they’ll take this opportunity."

He added that he feels the squad is well balanced.

"We’ve got a number of exciting young players in the side and this tour will be a huge step in their development.

"However it’s equally important to have players with experience and knowledge of the conditions and we have that too, so we’ve got the right mix."

The squad will leave for the West Indies on 6th September

New Zealand Women ODI/T20I squad: Suzie Bates (captain), Sam Curtis, Sophie Devine, Maddy Green, Georgia Guy, Holly Huddleston, Hayley Jensen, Felicity Leydon-Davis, Sara McGlashan, Morna Nielsen, Katie Perkins, Rachel Priest, Amy Satterthwaite, Lea Tahuhu

West Indies Women v New Zealand Women

12th September: 1st ODI, St Kitts
14th September: 2nd ODI, St Kitts
17th September: 3rd ODI, St Kitts
19th September: 4th ODI, St Kitts

23rd September: 1st T20I, St Vincent
25th September: 2nd T20I, St Vincent
27th September: 3rd T20I, St Vincent

© Cricket World 2014