< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

New Zealand Rediscover Winning Feeling

Morna Nielsen
Morna Nielsen (right) hits out during New Zealand's innings against the West Indies
©WICB Media

New Zealand Women 101-7 (Priest 26) beat
West Indies Women 92-8 by 9 runs
Women's T20 International tr-series, Bridgetown

New Zealand Women won their first game of the Twenty20 International tri-series in Barbados when they held on to beat the West Indies Women by nine runs.

The White Ferns had lost both of their opening games as well as the final two One-Day Internationals against the West Indies but this win opens up the tournament once again.

West Indies continue to lead the way with two wins and England and New Zealand, who meet in the next match, have one win apiece.

This was another low-scoring match in which top scorer for New Zealand was Rachel Priest with 26, her runs coming after they had been reduced to 50 for four in the 12th over.

West Indies got off to a good start as openers Stafanie Taylor (24) and Juliana Nero (20) put on 44 together but lost their way afterwards.

Nicola Browne took one for 12 in four overs with Erin Bermingham, Sian Ruck and Rachel Candy also taking wickets.

© Cricket World 2013