New Zealand spin trio hand India massive defeat

Mitchell Santner (centre) scored an useful 18 runs and picked four wickets as well.
Mitchell Santner (centre) scored an useful 18 runs and picked four wickets as well.
©REUTERS / Action Images

New Zealand 126-7 (Anderson 34) beat
India 79 (Dhoni 30) by 47 runs
13th Match, Super 10 Group 2, ICC World Twenty20, Nagpur

After restricting New Zealand to 126 for seven on a slow pitch, India were stumped by Black Caps' spin trio of Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi and Nathan McCullum and were bowled out for 79 runs, succumbing to a 47-run defeat in the Group 2 encounter in the Super 10 stage of the ICC World Twenty20 in Nagpur.

New Zealand won the toss and opted to bat first. Martin Guptill (6) started the innings by smashing a six over the bowler’s head but Ravichandran Ashwin (1-32) managed to trap him lbw off the very next ball.

Colin Munro (7) also smashed a six, capping off an eventful first over. In the next over, Ashish Nehra (1-20) got Munro caught at mid-off but Kane Williamson (8) and Corey Anderson (34) ensured that New Zealand did not lose anymore wickets in the powerplay.

In six overs, New Zealand had scored 33 for two. However, in the next over, Williamson was stumped off the bowling of Suresh Raina (1-16).

Ross Taylor (10) and Anderson saw out four more overs safely even as the run rate barely rose above run-a-ball. In the 12th over a brilliant piece of fielding from Raina saw Taylor being run out.

Three overs later, Jasprit Bumrah (1-15) produced a terrific yorker to flatten Anderson’s stumps. New Zealand were 89 for five at that stage.

Santner’s (18) 25-minute stay at the crease was brought to an end when he edged a ball from Ravindra Jadeja (1-26) to the keeper.

India continued to exert pressure with tight bowling but a timely cameo from Luke Ronchi (21 not out) helped New Zealand post 126 for seven in 20 overs.

McCullum (2-15) struck in the very first over as he got Shikhar Dhawan (1) out lbw. Things turned for the worse quickly for India as Santner (4-11) struck twice in the third over to see the back of Rohit Sharma (5) and Raina (1).

India continued to struggle against spin as Yuvraj Singh (4) chipped a return catch to McCullum as New Zealand reduced India to 29 for four at the end of the powerplay.

Virat Kohli (23), who seemed at ease on a slow pitch was undone by Sodhi (3-18) and was caught by the keeper, trying to negotiate a leg break.

India’s chase continued to fall apart as Hardik Pandya (1) was trapped lbw by Santner, leaving the tournament hosts to score 85 runs from the last 10 overs with just four wickets in hand.

The New Zealand spinners continued to wreak havoc and this time it was Sodhi who took a brilliant return catch to dismiss Jadeja in the 11th over.

A 30-run stand between MS Dhoni (30) and Ashwin (10) gave India a glimmer of hope. The partnership was broken by Sodhi once again, who induced Ashwin to advance down the track and had him stumped.

Dhoni, who offered a lone fight, fell in the 18th over, caught in the deep while trying to up the ante, giving Santner his fourth wicket.

India were eventually bowled out for 79 runs, their second lowest total in T20Is, as New Zealand claimed a massive 47-run victory. Santner was awarded the man of the match.

© Cricket World 2016