Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

New Zealand take advantage of the pacer friendly pitch?

New Zealand's Tim Southee

Reflecting on the first Test and with New Zealand captain Kane Williamson and Sri Lanka bowler Akila Dananjaya both being reported with a suspect bowling action following the first Test between Sri Lanka and New Zealand in Galle, New Zealand were certainly looking for their pace attack to come to the fore in the 2nd Test match to level the series.

Match Summary

Sri Lanka 244 (Dhananjaya de Silva 109, Dimuth Karunaratne 65; Tim Southee 4-63, Trent Boult 3-75) and 122 (Niroshan Dickwella 51; Tim Southee 2-15, Trent Boult 2-17)

New Zealand 431-6 Dec (Tom Latham 154, BJ Watling 105*, Colin de Grandhomme 83; Dilruwan Perera 3-114)

Result - New Zealand won by an innings and 65 runs


As it says in the news article on Sri Lanka had been often exposed, in the past, at the Oval, by quality seam bowlers and it proved to be so in this match as well.

In the first innings, Sri Lanka scored 244 with Dhananjaya de Silva 109 and Dimuth Karunaratne 65 the main run scorers and New Zealand pacers Tim Southee 4-63 and Trent Boult 3-75 the main wicket takers.

New Zealand then scored 431-6, before declaring and asking sri Lanka to bat again - Tom Latham top scored with 154 and BJ Watling 105* and Colin de Grandhomme 83 played significant supporting roles.

In Sri Lanka’s second innings, where there were frequent rain interruptions, the New Zealand bowlers turned on their performance again - Tim Southee, William Somerville, Ajaz Patel, and Trent Boult, all took two wickets apiece, to bowl out Sri Lanka for just 122 and win by an innings and 65 runs.

Tom Latham was awarded the Player of the Match for his 154-run knock in the first innings, while wicketkeeper BJ Watling walked away with the Man of the Series award.

Sri Lanka- Dimuth Karunaratne, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Kusal Perera, Dhananjaya de Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, Dilruwan Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Lasith Embuldeniya, Lahiru Kumara

New Zealand- Jeet Raval, Tom Latham, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, BJ Watling, Colin de Grandhomme, Tim Southee, William Somerville, Ajaz Patel, Trent Boult

Match Details

Start Time: 05:15

Toss: Sri Lanka won the toss and decided to bat

Venue: P Sara Oval, Colombo

Officials: Bruce Oxenford, Michael Gough, Richard Illingworth, Raja Wimalasiri, Andrew Pycroft

©Cricket World 2019