< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

New Zealand take first ODI against Bangladesh by 8 wickets

New Zealand’s Martin Guptill hit 117* today against Bangladesh

Bangladesh won the toss and decided to bat first against hosts New Zealand at McLean Park, Napier today, in the 1st ODI of the Series.

Match Summary

Bangladesh 232 (Mohammad Mithun 62, Mohammad Saifuddin 41; Mitchell Santner 3-45, Trent Boult 3-40, Lockie Ferguson 2-44, Matt Henry 2-48)

New Zealand  233-2  (Martin Guptill 117*, Henry Nicholls 53; Mehidy Hasan 1-42)

Result – New Zealand won by 8 wickets


Series Stats

Batting first, Bangladesh scored an under par 232 all out in 48.5 overs -  Mohammad Mithun 62 and Mohammad Saifuddin 41 top scoring – Bangladesh managed to recover from a disastrous 42-4, but the eventual total was never going to be enough for a match ready New Zealand side – agreat all round bowling performance from the New Zealand bowlers -  Mitchell Santner 3-45, Trent Boult 3-40, Lockie Ferguson 2-44 and Matt Henry 2-48.

In reply, New Zealand cruised to an 8 wicket victory, in 44.3 overs, with Martin Guptill 117*, Henry Nicholls 53 and Ross Taylor 45*doing the damage with the bat.


New Zealand - Martin Guptill, Henry Nicholls, Kane Williamson(c), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham(wk), Colin de Grandhomme, Jimmy Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Matt Henry, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult

Bangladesh - Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim(wk), Mohammad Mithun, Mahmudullah, Sabbir Rahman, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mehedi Hasan, Mashrafe Mortaza(c), Mustafizur Rahman

© Cricket World 2019