< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

New Zealand Test tour of Australia 2019: Preview, Match Schedule, Team Squads and Series Predictions

Australia's Tim Paine
Australia's Tim Paine

All you need to know about the New Zealand tour of Australia, comprising three Test matches, the first of which will be played in Perth from December 12.

The trans-tasman rivalry will be played out further as New Zealand take on Australia in a 3-match Test series. New Zealand are coming off a 1-0 victory over England at home. But, the series not being part of the World Test Championship, they are still stuck at 60 points in the table.

Australia, on the other hand, have climbed to the second spot in the table after a dominant 2-0 win against Pakistan.

Both teams have played a total of 23 Test series against each other out of which Australia have won 14 while New Zealand have only won three. Six of the series have been drawn.

The last time both teams took on each other in this format was during the 2015-2016 New Zealand tour of Australia which Australia won by 2-0. David Warner was the highest run-scorer of the series with 592 runs at an average of almost 100. Kane Williamson was next to him with 428 runs from 6 innings.

Among the bowlers, Mitchell Starc finished atop with 13 wickets from 3 Tests. Josh Hazlewood and Trent Boult were second and third with 13 wickets as well.

Australia have announced a more or less similar squad which took on Pakistan. They have only dropped Cameron Bancroft to make it a 13-member squad which only shows their increased confidence over the players.

Despite this being a 3-match series, it is quite possible that Australia field with the same XI in all the three games.

New Zealand have also named the same squad as the one which played England. Trent Boult and Colin de Grandhomme, who were ruled out of the second Test against England due to injuries, have regained fitness and are available for the series.

The first match of the series will be played at the Optus Stadium in Perth after which, there will be a long 10-day gap for the Boxing day Test in Melbourne. The third and the last match of the series, the new year Test, will be played in Sydney from January 3 onwards.


Series Predictions

 Winner -  Australia (2-0)

Top Run Scorer -   Steve Smith (Australia), BJ Watling (New Zealand)

Top Wicket Taker -  Mitchell Starc (Australia), Lockie Ferguson (New Zealand)

Most Sixes - David Warner (Australia), Colin de Grandhomme (New Zealand)

Here are the squads of both teams:

Australia - Tim Paine (c), Cameron Bancroft, Joe Burns, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, James Pattinson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner

New Zealand - Kane Williamson (c), Todd Astle, Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Jeet Raval, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, BJ Watling, Neil Wagner


Here's the complete schedule of the series: New Zealand tour of Australia - 3 Tests - Dec 12-Jan 07

Dec 12 - Dec 16 Australia v New Zealand, 1st Test Perth Stadium, Perth 5:00 AM

Dec 26 - Dec 30 Australia v New Zealand, 2nd Test MCG, Melbourne 12:00 AM (Dec 26) 12:00 AM

Jan 03 - Jan 07 Australia v New Zealand, 3rd Test Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney 12:00 AM (Jan 03)

©Cricket World 2019