New Zealand trounce West Indies to take series 3-0

Mitchell Santner picked three wickets in the game
Mitchell Santner picked three wickets in the game

New Zealand 131-4 (Taylor 47no) beat
West Indies 99-9 (Santner 3-15) by 66 runs DLS
Third One-Day International in Christchurch

Trent Boult and Mitchell Santner picked three wickets apiece as New Zealand restricted West Indies to 99 for nine while defending a revised target of 166 runs in the rain-hit third One-Day International in Christchurch.

The result also means New Zealand have gone on to win the series 3-0. Earlier it was the Black Caps, who won the toss and decided to bat first.

Sheldon Cottrell (2-19) got the initial breakthrough for New Zealand when he castled George Worker (2) in the third over and soon also accounted for Neil Broom (2).

The sixth over from Jason Holder (1-21) saw Colin Munro (21) edge one to the slip and shortly West Indies lost a review against Tom Latham (37). By the end of the 10th over, Black Caps reached 35 for three.

Ross Taylor (47 not out) struck three boundaries in the 14th over to inject some momentum into the innings but when New Zealand reached 83 for three after 19 overs, rain intervened and interrupted play for almost five hours.

The game finally resumed at 17:30 local time with the playing conditions revised to 23 overs per side. On resumption, Latham and Henry Nicholls (18 not out) smashed three boundaries each while Taylor too struck a couple as New Zealand ended their innings with a score of 131 for four.

The target for West Indies were revised to 166 in 23 overs but they got off to a worse possible start as Matt Henry (2-18) and Boult (3-18) picked Chris Gayle (4), Chadwick Walton (0), Shai Hope (2), Kyle Hope (1) and Jason Mohammed (1) in the opening spell and were reduced to 9 for five.

Jason Holder (34) and Nikita Miller (20 not out) tried to resurrect the innings but any chance of a comeback were put off by a three-wicket haul from Santner (3-15). West Indies could manage only 99 for nine in the 23 overs.

Taylor bagged the player of the match award while Boult was named the player of the series.

© Cricket World 2017