< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

New Zealand Unchanged For Tour Of England

New Zealand Unchanged For Tour Of England
New Zealand Unchanged For Tour Of England
©REUTERS/Philip Brown (ST. LUCIA - Tags: SPORT CRICKET) Picture Supplied by Action Images

New Zealand have named a 14-strong squad to take on England and Ireland Women in England later this year, keeping faith with the players that reached the ICC Women's World Twenty20 final in the West Indies.

New Zealand were beaten by just three runs in the final in Barbados against Australia, and although the squad remains the same, Suzie Bates is to replace Amy Satterthwaite as vice-captain.

They will play three Twenty20 Internationals and five One-Day Internationals against England as well as an ODI against Ireland on 4th July.

The Twenty20 Internationals, at Chelmsofrd, Southampton and Hove are on 29th June, 1st July and 2nd July and the ODI series visits Taunton, Derby, Barnsley and Lord's between 10th and 20th July.

Coach and selector Gary Stead told New Zealand Cricket's (NZC) official website (www.blackcaps.co.nz):

“The squad features a nice blend of youth and experience and this tour will be used to look at developing some of the new players into important roles.

“This group is versatile and provides plenty of cover for the different conditions we are likely to encounter in England.

“As part of the selection succession planning in leadership positions Suzie Bates will replace Amy Satterthwaite as vice-captain.”

New Zealand Women's ODI/T20I squad: Aimee Watkins (captain), Suzie Bates (vice-captain), Erin Bermingham, Kate Broadmore, Nicola Browne, Sophie Devine, Natalie Dodd, Lucy Doolan, Maria Fahey, Sara McGlashan, Liz Perry, Rachel Priest, Sian Ruck, Amy Satterthwaite

© Cricket World 2010