< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

New Zealand vs Bangladesh, 2nd T20I: New Zealand won by 28 runs (D/L)

Daryl Mitchell 34*
Daryl Mitchell 34*

New Zealand won the 2nd T20I by 28 runs (D/L) to win the match and the series today at McLean Park, Napier.


Match Summary

New Zealand vs Bangladesh, 2nd T20I, Bangladesh tour of New Zealand

New Zealand 173/5 (17.5 ov)

Bangladesh 142/7 (16 ov)

Result – New Zealand won by 28 runs (D/L)




Match Day Highlights

Glenn Phillips 48* and Daryl Mitchell 34* were the heroes with the bat for the Kiwis after Bangladesh had reduced them to 111/5 in the 14th over. Unfortuately, the rain came when they were in full flight an New Zealand's innings closed at 173/5 off 17.5 overs.

Fall of wickets: 1-36 (Finn Allen - 3.6 ov), 2-55 (Martin Guptill - 5.6 ov), 3-55 (Devon Conway - 6.1 ov), 4-94 (Will Young - 11.4 ov), 5-111 (Mark Chapman - 13.4 ov)


In reply, Bangladesh made 142/7 in their allotted 16 overs (D/L) losing out by 28 runs - Soumya Sarkar 51, top scored and Tim Southee, Hamish Bennett and Adam Milne all took a couple of wickets for New Zealand.

New Zealand win the T20I series by taking an unassailable 2-0 lead with one game to go in the three-match series.

Fall of wickets: 1-13 (Liton Das - 1.6 ov), 2-94 (Soumya Sarkar - 10.1 ov), 3-110 (Naim Sheikh - 12.1 ov), 4-123 (Mahmudullah - 13.3 ov), 5-124 (Afif Hossain - 13.5 ov), 6-126 (Mohammad Mithun - 14.1 ov), 7-137 (Mohammad Saifuddin - 15.4 ov)


Playing XIs

New Zealand - Martin Guptill, Finn Allen, Devon Conway(wk), Will Young, Glenn Phillips, Mark Chapman, Daryl Mitchell, Tim Southee(c), Ish Sodhi, Hamish Bennett, Adam Milne

Bangladesh - Liton Das(wk), Mohammad Naim, Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Mithun,, Mahmudullah(c), Afif Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mahedi Hasan, Nasum Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Taskin Ahmed


Match Details

Start Time: 07:00

Toss: Bangladesh won the toss and decided to field

Venue: McLean Park, Napier

Officials: Christopher Brown, Wayne Knights, Christopher Gaffaney, Shaun Haig, Jeffrey Crowe


©Cricket World 2021