< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

New Zealand vs Bangladesh, 5th Match: New Zealand beat Bangladesh by 48 runs

New Zealand's Finn Allen
New Zealand's Finn Allen

New Zealand eased comfortably into Friday's Final of the New Zealand T20I Tri-Series, beating Bangladesh by 48 runs, in Match 5 of the Series, at the Hagley Oval, Christchurch today.



Match Details

New Zealand vs Bangladesh, 5th Match, New Zealand T20I Tri-Series

New Zealand 208/5 (20 ov)

Bangladesh 160/7 (20 ov)

Result – New Zealand won by 48 runs





Match Round-Up

Finn Allen (32), Devon Conway (64), Martin Guptill (34) and Glenn Phillips (60) ensured that New Zealand reached 208/5 in their 20 overs, which was always going to be a tough chase for the Bangladesh batters - Shakib Al Hasan (70) top scored for Bangladesh and Adam Milne 3-24 was outstanding with the ball for the Blackcaps.

Captain Shakib Al Hasan commented after the match - "When you score a few runs, you feel better, but I thought we played quite well," 

"New Zealand put on a very good total and we were always behind in the game, but I thought we should have scored maybe 15 or 20 more runs,

"We kept on losing wickets which cost us the game."

Match Stats

New Zealand Fall of wickets: 1-45 (Finn Allen - 4.2 ov), 2-127 (Martin Guptill - 13.2 ov), 3-161 (Devon Conway - 16.1 ov), 4-163 (Mark Chapman - 16.4 ov), 5-205 (Glenn Phillips - 19.4 ov)

Bangldesh Fall of wickets: 1-24 (Nazmul Hossain Shanto - 3.3 ov), 2-47 (Liton Das - 5.3 ov), 3-90 (Soumya Sarkar - 9.6 ov), 4-98 (Afif Hossain - 11.2 ov), 5-120 (Nurul Hasan - 14.2 ov), 6-135 (Yasir Ali Chowdhury - 15.6 ov), 7-153 (Shakib Al Hasan - 18.2 ov)


Playing XIs

Bangladesh - Liton Das, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Afif Hossain, Nurul Hasan (WK), Soumya Sarkar, Mosaddek Hossain, Shakib Al Hasan (C), Mohammad Saifuddin, Ebadot Hossain, Shoriful Islam

New Zealand -  Devon Conway (WK). Martin Guptill, Mark Chapman, Finn Allen, Glenn Phillips, Jimmy Neesham, Michael Bracewell, Trent Boult, Adam Milne, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee (C)


Match Details

Date - 2022-10-12 02:00:00

Venue - Hagley Oval, Christchurch, Christchurch

Toss - Bangladesh won the toss & elected to field

Umpires - Alex Wharf (England), Shaun Haig (New Zealand), Wayne Knights (New Zealand


Match Referee - Jeff Crowe (New Zealand)

©Cricket World 2022