< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

New Zealand vs Pakistan, 4th Match: New Zealand beat Pakistan by 9 wickets

New Zealand's Finn Allen
New Zealand's Finn Allen was in top form today

New Zealand beat Pakistan by 9 wickets, in the 4th Match of the New Zealand T20I Tri-Series, at the Hagley Oval, Christchurch, today.

Match Summary

New Zealand vs Pakistan, 4th Match, New Zealand T20I Tri-Series

New Zealand  131/1 (16.1 ov)

Pakistan 130/7 (20 ov)

Result - New Zealand won by 9 wickets


Top Tournament Stats - New Zealand Tri Series 2022

Top Batter

Top Bowler

Most Sixes

Points Table

Pakistan produced a cold performance on a chilly Tuesday evening in Christchurch as New Zealand won the repeat T20I tri-series match by nine wickets. 

As the temperature dropped to 13 degrees centigrade at the Hagley Oval, Pakistan, who had defeated New Zealand in the earlier fixture by six wickets, managed only 130 for seven with 15 fours after electing to bat first. New Zealand, familiar with the conditions, faced no hurdles in racing to victory in 16.1 overs after Finn Allen and Devon Conway put on 117 runs for the first wicket in 13.3 overs. 

Allen was dismissed after scoring 62 from 42 balls with a four and six sixes, while Conway returned unbeaten on 49 with five fours from 46 balls. Kane Williamson was the other not out batter with nine from as many deliveries. 

Earlier, Pakistan failed to get the impetus into their innings and managed only 130 for seven. The highest partnership of the innings was for the sixth wicket when Iftikhar Ahmed and Asif Ali put on 51 runs. Iftikhar’s run-a-ball 27 included three fours, while Asif Ali also struck three fours in a 20-ball 25 not out. 

Babar Azam (21) and Mohammad Rizwan (16) had provided a 30-run first wicket start in 4.2 overs, but Pakistan slipped to 77 for five in 13.2 overs. Shan Masood scored 14, Shadab Khan managed eight and Haider Ali contributed eight. 

For New Zealand, off-spinner Michael Bracewell exploited the conditions brilliantly on the slow pitch to finish with figures of 4-0-11-2. He was later adjudged player of the match. Left-arm spinner Mitchell Santner snapped up two wickets for 27 runs, while fast bowler Tim Southee claimed two wickets for 31 runs. 

Pakistan and New Zealand have now played three matches each and won two apiece. Bangladesh are winless after two games. Bangladesh will take on New Zealand in a must-win match on Wednesday, before taking on Pakistan on Thursday. 



Playing XIs

New Zealand - Finn Allen, Devon Conway(wk), Kane Williamson(c), Glenn Phillips, Mark Chapman, Jimmy Neesham, Michael Bracewell, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Blair Tickner

Pakistan - Mohammad Rizwan(wk), Babar Azam(c), Shan Masood, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Haider Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Asif Ali, Mohammad Wasim, Naseem Shah, Shahnawaz Dahani

Match Details

Start Time: 03:00

Toss: Pakistan won the toss and decided to bat

Venue: Hagley Oval, Christchurch

Officials: Alexander Wharf, Wayne Knights, Shaun Haig, John Dempsey, Jeffrey Crowe

©Cricket World 2022