< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

New Zealand Women vs Australia Women, 2nd T20I: New Zealand win in last ball thriller

Frances Mackay
Frances Mackay

New Zealand Women won the 2nd T20I, off the last ball of the match, in what was a nail biting run chase for the Kiwi Women at  McLean Park, Napier today – they level up the series 1-1.


Match Summary

New Zealand Women 131/6 (20 ov)

Australia Women 129/4 (20 ov)

Result - New Zealand Women won by 4 wickets




Match Day Highlights

New Zealand Women won the toss and elected to field and the Australia Women scored a below par 129/4 off their 20 overs. Beth Mooney 64* top scored and Frances Mackay 2-20 was the leading wicket taker for the Kiwi Women.

Fall of wickets: 1-19 (Alyssa Healy - 3.5 ov), 2-69 (Meg Lanning - 10.5 ov), 3-118 (Rachael Haynes - 18.2 ov), 4-122 (Ashleigh Gardner - 18.6 ov)


In reply, New Zealand Women got over the line off the last ball with Frances Mackay 46 top scoring - Megan Schutt 2-24 was the leading wicket taker for the Aussie women

Fall of wickets: 1-14 (Hayley Jensen - 2.6 ov), 2-27 (Amy Satterthwaite - 6.1 ov), 3-81 (Frances Mackay - 11.6 ov), 4-97 (Katey Martin - 15.5 ov), 5-101 (Brooke Halliday - 16.5 ov), 6-101 (Amelia Kerr - 16.6 ov)


Player of the Match - Frances Mackay for her 46 and 2-20


Playing XIs

New Zealand Women - Amy Satterthwaite(c), Hayley Jensen, Amelia Kerr, Brooke Halliday, Katey Martin(wk), Maddy Green, Frances Mackay, Hannah Rowe, Jess Kerr, Rosemary Mair, Thamsyn Newton

Australia Women - Meg Lanning(c), Alyssa Healy(wk), Beth Mooney, Rachael Haynes, Ashleigh Gardner, Ellyse Perry, Nicola Carey, Georgia Wareham, Jess Jonassen, Megan Schutt, Darcie Brown


Match Details

Start Time: 03:00

Toss: New Zealand Women won the toss and decided to field

Venue: McLean Park, Napier

Officials: John Dempsey, Kim Cotton, Cory Black, Damien Morrow, Gary Baxter


 ©Cricket World 2021