< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Nick Compton added to MCC squad for Tri Series with Nepal and Netherlands

Nick Compton added to MCC squad for Tri Series with Nepal and Netherlands

Nick Compton and Peter Moor are the latest internationals to be named in the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) squad for the Triangular Tournament with Nepal and the Netherlands, which takes place at Lord’s on Sunday 29th July.

The two new additions will join Mahela Jayawardene, Ian Bell, James Foster and Jonathan Trott who have already been confirmed in the MCC squad.

England batsman Compton is no stranger to the Home of Cricket, having spent ten seasons across two spells playing at Lord’s with Middlesex County Cricket Club. He also played two of his sixteen Test matches for England on the ground. He made two centuries during his Test career and has scored over 12,000 first-class runs, averaging over 40.

Zimbabwe international Moor has most recently been involved in the T20 Tri-Series with Australia and Pakistan in Harare. The top-order batsman, who also keeps wicket, has played in all three international formats for Zimbabwe and also played a handful of matches for MCC in 2015.

Sri Lanka legend Jayawardene will captain MCC, whilst Scotland internationals Dylan Budge, Alasdair Evans and Mark Watt will also be in action for the Club. The trio will be renewing acquaintances with the Netherlands after facing them, along with Ireland, in a Tri-Nation T20 series in June.

Three MCC Young Cricketers have also been included in the squad for the day.

Kashif Ali is a top-order batsman and leg-spin bowler who has previous experience with Essex and Kent, and is on his first year of the YCs programme. Dominic Manthorpe is a left-arm seamer who is also in his first year as a YC, and right-arm seamer Ben Sears is a former New Zealand Under-19 International, having played in the Under-19 World Cup in 2016, and is on his second year with the YCs.

The match schedule is as follows:

Match 1: MCC v the Netherlands – 10.00am start

Match 2: MCC v Nepal – 13.05pm start

Match 3: The Netherlands v Nepal – 16.20pm start (Full ICC T20 International)


Full MCC Squad: K. Ali, I.R. Bell, D.E. Budge , N.R.D. Compton , A.C. Evans, J.S. Foster, D.P.M.D. Jayawardene© , D. Manthorpe, P.J. Moor, B.V. Sears, I.J.L. Trott, M.R.J. Watt

©Cricket World 2018