< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Nielsen, Satterthwaite replace Megan Schutt and Sarah Coyte in Kia Super League

Nielsen, Satterthwaite replace Megan Schutt and Sarah Coyte in Kia Super League
Amy Satterthwaite (right) has scored 981 runs and picked up 20 wickets as well from 71 T20I games.
©REUTERS / Action Images

New Zealand Women cricketers Morna Neilsen and Amy Satterthwaite have been selected to replace the Australian duo of Megan Schutt and Sarah Coyte in the inaugural edition of the Kia Super League which kicks off on 30th July at Headingley.

Fast bowler Schutt has withdrawn from the competition due to injury while 25-year-old Coyte has decided not to participate due to personal reasons.

Left-arm spinner Nielsen will now join her teammates Suzie Bates and Sara McGlashan in the Hampshire-based Southern Vipers squad.

Nielsen, who has made 84 international appearances for New Zealand, is currently the second-ranked bowler in the ICC Women’s Twenty20 Player Rankings.

Meanwhile, experienced top-order batsman Satterthwaite will play for the Lancashire Thunder alongside the West Indies pair of Deandra Dottin and Hayley Matthews.

Since making her international debut for New Zealand in 2007, Satterthwaite has gone on to play 80 One-Day Internationals and 71 T20 Internationals while scoring a total of 3,016 runs.

General Manager of the Kia Super League Jo Kirk expressed her delight at the quality of overseas cricketers who have signed up for the inaugural edition.

"With just over six weeks to go until the start of the Kia Super League, there is a growing level of excitement and buzz around the competition, with all six teams now in full swing preparing for the opening weekend of action on 30th and 31st July," she said.

"We are absolutely delighted with the calibre of overseas players that all six teams have been able to secure, and we look forward to welcoming all 18 of them to England this summer."

The Kia Super League 2016 will begin on 30th July with a total of six teams vying for the title and the final of the tournament will be played on 21st August in Chelmsford.

© Cricket World 2016