< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results
Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

Nominations open for Lord's Taverners Sporting Chance awards 2016

Last year's award winners
Last year's award winners
©Lord's Taverners

Nominations are now open for this year's Lord's Taverners Sporting Chance awards, which will be handed out at a ceremony at London's Guildhall on 21st October.

At the ceremony, achievements of young people in disability and mainstream sports will be recognised as well as individuals, clubs and programmes enabling young people from disadvantaged backgrounds or with disabilities to enjoy a sporting chance.

The awards categories for 2016 are:

  • Team of the year
  • Community Sports Club of the year
  • Young Volunteer of the year
  • Young Sportsperson of the year
  • Spirit of Sport award
  • Jean Ratcliff Lifetime Contribution award

Mike Gatting, former England captain and a supporter of the Lord's Taverners, is pleased to see people being rewarded for the work they are doing.

"The Lord's Taverners is a wonderful charity and an organisation which I have had a close involvement with over a number of years," he said.

"It is great to see a charity formally recognising the array of talent and dedication that exists within disability and mainstream sport at the Sporting Chance Awards, many of whom never receive the credit their efforts richly deserve."

Lord’s Taverners CEO Paul Robin added: "We look forward to building on the success of last year’s event with an even bigger ceremony this time around.

"These awards are all about recognising young peoples’ efforts and achievements and we are proud as a charity of giving them a sporting chance, something all young people deserve."

Click here to find out more and to make your nominations

© Cricket World 2016