< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Nottinghamshire CCC becomes Regional Host for the East Midlands

Loughborough Lightning to move to Nottinghamshire CCC
Loughborough Lightning to move to Nottinghamshire CCC

Following a tender process, Nottinghamshire CCC has been announced as the Regional Host for the East Midlands in the Women’s Regional Structure.

From November 1, Nottinghamshire CCC will replace Loughborough University who have been one of the eight Regional Hosts since the structure came into place in 2019.

In conjunction with the ECB, Loughborough University have decided that the future development of this programme is now best served at a county cricket club and will work with all involved to seamlessly transition the Regional Host. Loughborough will continue to offer world-class cricket programmes for its students and compete as a university.

Head of Women’s Domestic Cricket Jo Kirk said: “We’d like to place on record our thanks to Loughborough University for their hard work, commitment and collaboration across the last seven years. As well as being an important part of the Kia Super League, they have played a vital role in forming Lightning, and since 2019 establishing the regional model in their part of the country.

“We’re really looking forward to working with the team at Nottinghamshire CCC as they move to leading within their region, alongside Derbyshire CCC, Leicestershire CCC and Lincolnshire.

“The continued growth of the Women’s Regional Structure and the impact it has had on the overall health of women’s cricket in England and Wales is something we should be really proud of, and we’re looking forward to continuing that momentum with a new Regional Partner in the East Midlands.”

Ian Read, CEO of Lightning Regional Host at Loughborough University, said: “Athletes are always at the centre of our thinking and it’s clear that working directly with a First-Class County is the best option to continue their development and the development of the game.

“We have worked closely with the ECB throughout the process of making our decision to pass the baton and are proud to continue working with Nottinghamshire alongside all the other East Midlands partners. Loughborough University remains committed to cricket for both genders and will continue to develop players and compete as a university as we have for many years.”

The final of the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy will be played at Lord’s on Sunday September 25.

The Women’s Regional Structure (Regional Hosts in italics)

Central Sparks (Warwickshire CCC & Worcestershire CCC, Herefordshire, Shropshire, Staffordshire)

East Midlands* (Nottinghamshire CCC, Derbyshire CCC, Leicestershire CCC, Lincolnshire) *name tbc

Northern Diamonds (Yorkshire CCC, Durham CCC, Northumberland)

Thunder (Lancashire CCC, Cheshire, Cumbria)

South East Stars (Surrey CCC, Kent CCC)

Southern Vipers (Hampshire Cricket Ltd, Sussex CCC, Berkshire, Buckinghamshire, Dorset, Isle of Wight, Oxfordshire)

Sunrisers (Middlesex CCC, Essex CCC, Northamptonshire CCC, Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire, Hertfordshire, Huntingdonshire, Norfolk, Suffolk)

Western Storm (Glamorgan CCC, Gloucestershire CCC, Somerset CCC, Cricket Wales, Cornwall, Devon, Wiltshire)