< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

NSW Breakers squad named for Tasmania fixtures

NSW Breakers squad named for Tasmania fixtures
NSW Breakers squad named for Tasmania fixtures
©NSW Breakers

The NSW Breakers have announced a 13-player squad for a pair of matches against Tasmania when the Women’s National Cricket League (WNCL) season resumes following the WBBL break.

The Breakers will play the defending WNCL champion Tigers Women at Blundstone Arena in Hobart at 10:30am on Sunday and then again from 2:00pm on Tuesday.

Sammy-Jo Johnson will captain the side in the absence of regular skipper Alyssa Healy who is currently leading the Australian team in a T20 series in India, alongside Breakers’ teammates Ash Gardner and Phoebe Litchfield.

Johnson is joined in the squad by four players with senior international experience – Erin Burns, Lauren Cheatle, Hannah Darlington and Stella Campbell, while rising stars Claire Moore and Jade Allen have been named after playing starring roles at last week’s National Under 19 Championships that earned the pair Australian U19 team selection.

Two uncontracted players have been named, both having the chance to make their Breakers debut.

Englishwoman Sophie Luff, who is playing Premier Cricket for Parramatta, and has had a very successful career at home, having played for England A, adds plenty of experience and is an option at the top of the order.

Shivani Mehta, who plays for Manly in Premier Cricket, is an allrounder who has been part of the CNSW pathway system for some time. Mehta is skilled at several sports and attended the same school as perhaps cricket’s finest multi-sport star, Ellyse Perry.

NSW Breakers

Jade Allen, Erin Burns, Stella Campbell, Lauren Cheatle, Hannah Darlington, Ebony Hoskin, Sammy-Jo Johnson ©, Anika Learoyd, Sophie Luff, Shivani Mehta, Claire Moore, Lauren Smith, Tahlia Wilson

Official Cricket Australia Website