NYC Mayor's Cup Game - 21st June 2014

Top players from New York's high schools will play in the New York City Mayor's Cup Cricket All-Star match on Saturday (21st June).


Van Cortlandt Park's Parade Ground Cricket Field 3 will host the match and admission is free for all spectators.

The stars of the Public Schools Athletic League (PASL) will take to the field, split into two teams, one from Queens and one made up up players from Brooklyn, the Bronx and and Manhattan.

Players to watch out for include Kiefer Phill and Derick Narine. The former recently represented the USA Under-19s and Narine has played for the West Indian Under-19 side.

The NYC Mayor's Cup is a series of events showcasing the best student athletes from the five boroughs of New York in 10 different sports.

Queens: Derick Narine (captain, school: John Adams), Imran Fakir (William C. Bryant), Jason Hall (John Browne), Nicholas Harripersaud (Hillcrest), Mohammad Hossain (Newcomers), Orett Irons (Martin Van Buren), Jamiel Jackman (Springfield Gardens), Gourav Jasel (Richmond Hill), Rolex Kapali (Aviation), Randy Permaul, Adrian Persaud (John Adams), Keifer Phill (HS for Construction), Jason Rooney (Hillcrest), Bajinder Singh (Jamaica)

Coaches: Hunter Brett (Hillcrest), Sam Sooppersaud (Newcomers)

Brooklyn, Bronx & Manhattan: Burhan Saeed (captain, Midwood), Shahryar Asghar (Lafayette), Joydeep Baidya (Stuyvesant), Suriya Baskar (Bronx HS of Science), Naquarn Charlemagne (Prospect Heights), Shamar Griffith (Wingate), Akramul Haque (Brooklyn International), Mohammad Hasan (Franklin D. Roosevelt), MD Hossain (Brooklyn International), Asmar Khan (Dewitt Clinton), Aritra Nirmal (Brookly Tech), Hamza Rana (Franklin D. Roosevelt), Muhammed Shahzad (Midwood), Abu Sharif (Brooklyn International), Chad Singh (Thomas Edison), Mahfuj Uddin (Franklin K. Lane)

Coaches: Mohamed Khan (Stuyvesant), Paul Allen (Brooklyn International)

© Cricket World 2014