< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

NZ v India 1st ODI: Latham, Williamson team up to dismantle India

New Zealand's Tom Latham
New Zealand's Tom Latham

New Zealand continued its brilliant run in ODI cricket at home as they beat India by seven wickets in the first game of the three-match series at the Eden Park on Friday.

Asked to bat, India posted 306 for seven in their 50 overs. In their response New Zealand chased down the target in 47.1 overs to finish on 309 for three.

India started off sedately through their openers captain Shikhar Dhawan and Shubman Gill. The pair put on 124 for the opening wicket. But after Gill fell for 50 off 65 balls with one boundary and three sixes. Dhawan fell soon after on 72 off 77 balls with 13 boundaries. Thereafter, there was a mid-innings collapse as India slipped from 124 for no loss to 160 for four. Then Shreyas Iyer teamed up with Sanju Samson to add 94 runs for the fifth wicket. Iyer finished on 80 off 76 balls with four boundaries and four sixes. Iyer added 44 runs for the sixth wicket with Washington Sundar. In the end Sundar made a brisk unbeaten 37 off 16 balls with three boundaries and three sixes. India finished on 306 for seven in 50 overs. For New Zealand the successful bowlers were Tim Southee (3-73) and Lockie Ferguson (3-59).

In their response, New Zealand lost their opener Finn Allen early in the piece. Then, his partner Devon Conway fell after adding 35 runs for the second wicket with captain Kane Williamson. Conway fell with the score on 68. Daryl Mitchell was dismissed soon after with the score on 88. It appeared that India had the upper hand at that stage. Williamson put on an unbroken runs for the fourth wicket with Tom Latham. Together the partnership completely dismantled India's inexperienced bowling attack as they went about putting together the chase. For India the most successful bowler was debutant fast bowler Umran Malik (2-66). In the end New Zealand chased down the target in 47.1 overs to finish on 309 for three. Latham finished unbeaten on 145 off 104 balls with 19 boundaries and five sixes. Williamson finished unbeaten on 94 off 98 balls with seven boundaries and one six. 

Match Summary
India: 306-7 (50)
Fall of wickets: 1-124 (Shubman Gill-23.1 ov), 2-124 (Shikhar Dhawan-24.3 ov), 3-156 (Rishabh Pant-32.2 ov), 4-160 (Suryakumar Yadav-32.5 ov), 5-254 (Sanju Samson-45.4 ov), 6-300 (Shreyas Iyer-49.2 ov), 7-306 (Shardul Thakur-49.6 ov)

New Zealand: 309-3 (47.1)
Fall of wickets: 1-35 (Finn Allen-7.3 ov), 2-68 (Devon Conway-15.1 ov), 3-88 (Daryl Mitchell-19.5 ov) 


Playing XI
New Zealand: Finn Allen, Devon Conway, Kane Williamson (captain), Tom Latham (wicket-keeper), Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Adam Milne, Matt Henry, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson

India: Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Suryakumar Yadav, Sanju Samson, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Umran Malik, Arshdeep Singh, Yuzvendra Chahal

Match Details
Toss: New Zealand, elected to field
Venue: Eden Park, Auckland
Start time: 0030 hrs GMT
Match officials: Chris Brown, Chris Gaffaney (On-field Umpires); Wayne Knights (TV Umpire); Shaun Haig (Reserve Umpire); Jeff Crowe (Match-referee)