< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

O'Brien Leads Ireland To World Cricket League Glory

O'Brien Leads Ireland To World Cricket League Glory
O'Brien Leads Ireland To World Cricket League Glory
©Action Images / Andrew Boyers Livepic

Kevin O'Brien scored an unbeaten 98 and Andrew White stroked 79 as Ireland took the ICC World Cricket League Division One title with a six-wicket win over Scotland, who for the second time in two runnings of the six-team Division One tournament, finished as runners-up.

O'Brien hit the winning runs after his side had been set 233 to win and he had earlier shared in a partnership worth 160 with White as Ireland recovered from 51 for three to get home with five overs and a ball to spare as O'Brien hit four fours and three sixes in his match-winning innings.

Openers Fraser Watts (98) and Preston Mommsen (80) had put Scotland on course for a big score before they collapsed from 141 without loss to be bowled out for 232 as O'Brien, Trent Johnston, George Dockrell and Nigel Jones all took two wickets apiece.

Afghanistan rounded off their tournament with a third-place finish by beating hosts the Netherlands by five wickets. Tom Cooper's remarkable run of form continued as he scored 96 before an unbeaten 51 in 40 balls from Wesley Barresi guided the Dutch to a score of 218 for five from their 50 overs with Mirwais Ashraf returning two for 20.

Afghanistan lost two wickets for five runs at the start of their innings before 82 from Mohammad Shehzad and 64 in 68 balls from Asghar Salamkhail handed Afghanistan victory with four overs to spare.

Canada completed the tournament by beating 2007 champions Kenya by three wickets to finish in fifth place.

Kenya's batting failed to fire as Rizwan Cheema took three wickets and the top score came from Thomas Odoyo, who made 39 before they were bowled out for 190. Canada made hard work of the run chase before Zubin Sarkari hit 49 and Ashish Bagai 39 to put them on top and there they stayed with Amarbir Hansra unbeaten on 13.

© Cricket World 2010