Tri-Series Revived As India, New Zealand, Sri Lanka Tour Australia

Tri-Series Revived As India, New Zealand, Sri Lanka Tour Australia
Tri-Series Revived As India, New Zealand, Sri Lanka Tour Australia
©REUTERS / Action Images

India, New Zealand and Sri Lanka will tour Australia later this year and in the early part of 2012 while India and Sri Lanka will play a One-Day International tri-series along with the hosts.

The Commonwealth Bank series has been revived after a gap of four years while India and New Zealand will both play Test series against Australia.

New Zealand will play two Tests, in Brisbane and Hobart in December before India play four Tests in Melbourne, Sydney, Perth and Adelaide.

February will begin with Australia playing India in two Twenty20 Internationals in Sydney and Melbourne before the ODI 12-match tri-series gets underway on 5th February, with the three finals scheduled for 4th, 6th and 8th March in Brisbane and Adelaide (final two matches).

"Fans will certainly have plenty of variety this summer," Cricket Australia chief executive James Sutherland said.

"ICC Cricket World Cup winner India is also the number one-ranked Test team in the world at the moment.

"Sri Lanka has also been in great form as we saw in the World Cup, while we know New Zealand is always a formidable opponent that thrives when playing Australia.

"With the commencement of the ICC World Test Championship we know that every Test win is vital and the Australian team will be keen to start the home season positively against New Zealand."

Australia v New Zealand
Test series

1st-5th December: 1st Test, Brisbane
9th-13th December: 2nd Test, Hobart

Australia v India
Test series

26th-30th December: 1st Test, Melbourne
3rd-7th January: 2nd Test, Sydney
13th-17th January: 3rd Test, Perth
24th-28th January: 4th Test, Adelaide

Twenty20 International series
1st February: 1st Twenty20 International, Sydney
3rd February: 2nd Twenty20 International, Melbourne
Commonwealth Bank Series

5th February: Australia v India, Melbourne
8th February: India v Sri Lanka, Perth
10th February: Australia v Sri Lanka, Perth
12th February: Australia v India, Adelaide
14th February: India v Sri Lanka, Adelaide
17th February: Australia v Sri Lanka, Sydney
19th February: Australia v India, Brisbane
21st February; India v Sri Lanka, Brisbane
26th February: Australia v India, Sydney
28th February: India v Sri Lanka, Hobart
2nd March: Australia v Sri Lanka, Melbourne
4th March: 1st final, Brisbane
6th March: 2nd final, Adelaide
8th March: 3rd final (if required), Adelaide

© Cricket World 2011