< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

BBL 2021/22: Siddle and Short combine for Adelaide Strikers win

Adelaide Strikers Peter Siddle
Adelaide Strikers Peter Siddle

Peter Siddle's bowling set up Adelaide Strikers batsmen Matthew Short to see them to a comfortable 7 wicket win over Hobart Hurricanes today at the Adelaide Oval, Adelaide.

Match Summary

Adelaide Strikers vs Hobart Hurricanes, 35th Match, Big Bash League

Adelaide Strikers 129/3 (15.1 ov)

Hobart Hurricanes 126/10 (19.5 ov)

Result - Adelaide Strikers won by 7 wickets


Adelaide Strikers won the toss and chose to bowl, a decision which would work massively in their favour on the day.

Nobody really got going for Hobart, D'Arcy Short (32) top scoring and Tim David (28) adding some runs later in the innings.

The star of the show though was Strikers bowler Peter Siddle (5/23), bowling out Hobart for 126/10.

After a strong bowling performance, it didn't take much to knock off the total, opener Matthew Short (72*) smashing a big half century to see them over the line. 

Matt Short (Adelaide Strikers) was Player of the Match for his 72* (44)

Match Stats

Hobart Hurricanes Fall of wickets: 1-6 (Matthew Wade - 1.3 ov), 2-13 (Ben McDermott - 3.2 ov), 3-49 (Peter Handscomb - 8.1 ov), 4-53 (Caleb Jewell - 9.1 ov), 5-88 (D'Arcy Short - 12.5 ov), 6-96 (Tim David - 15.4 ov), 7-106 (Macalister Wright - 16.5 ov), 8-123 (Mitchell Owen - 19.1 ov), 9-124 (Tom Rogers - 19.3 ov), 10-126 (Sandeep Lamichhane - 19.5 ov)

Adelaide Strikers Fall of wickets: 1-38 (Henry Hunt - 4.3 ov), 2-106 (Matt Renshaw - 12.1 ov), 3-125 (Jonathan Wells - 14.5 ov)

Playing XI

ADELAIDE STRIKERS - Harry Nielsen (WK), Matthew Short, Jake Weatherald, Matt Renshaw, Jonathan Wells, Thomas Kelly, Henry Hunt, Rashid Khan, Harry Conway, Wes Agar, Peter Siddle (C), Liam Scott, Daniel Worrall

HOBART HURRICANES - Matthew Wade (WK/C), Ben McDermott, D'Arcy Short, Caleb Jewell, Peter Handscomb, Tim David, Mitchell Owen, Tom Rogers, Wil Parker, Riley Meredith, Sandeep Lamichhane, Macalister Wright

Match Details

Date - 5th December, 08:15 AM

Venue - Adelaide Oval, Adelaide

Toss - Adelaide Strikers won the toss & elected to field

Umpires - Phillip Gillespie, Tony Wilds

© Cricket World 2022