< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Oman v PNG, 1st Match: Oman start off with a thumping win

Oman got off their campaign in the T20 World Cup 2021 in fine style as they beat Papua New Guinea (PNG) by 10 wickets on Sunday afternoon.

At the Al Amerat Cricket Ground in Muscat, PNG after eing asked to bat, posted a modest 129 for nine. Oman chased down the target without losing a wicket to finish on 131 for no loss in just 13.4 overs.

Earlier, PNG were well served by captain Assad Vala who struck 56 off 43 balls with four boundaries and three sixes. Vala added 81 for the third wicket with his deputy Charles Amini. But thereafter the innings lost its way as PNG kept losing wickets at regular intervals. In the end PNG finished on a modest 129 for nine in their 20 overs. For Oman the best bowler was Zeeshan Maqsood (4-20) and the other two wicket-takers were Bilal Khan (2-16) and Kaleemullah (2-19).

The chase for Oman was quite easy. Aqib Ilyas (50 n.o,: 43b, 5x4, 1x6) and Jatinder Singh (73 n.o,: 42b, 7x4, 4x6) batted brilliantly without being separated. The chase was achieved quite easily in just 13.4 overs which should help Oman's cause in the tournament.

Earlier, Oman handed debuts to Ayaan Khan and Kashyap Prajapati.

Match Summary

Papua New Guinea: 129-9 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Tony Ura-0.5 ov), 2-0 (Lega Siaka-1.3 ov), 3-81 (Charles Amini-11.3 ov), 4-102 (Assad Vala-14.1 ov), 5-112 (Norman Vanua-15.1 ov), 6-113 (Sese Bau-15.3 ov), 7-113 (Kiplin Doriga-15.5 ov), 8-117 (Simon Atai-16.6 ov), 9-118 (Damien Ravu-17.2 ov)

Oman: 131-0 (13.4)

Result: Oman won by 10 wickets


Playing XI
Papua New Guinea: Assad Vala (captain), Tony Ura, CJ Amini, Lega Siaka, Norman Vanua, Sese Bau, Simon Atai, Kiplin Doriga (wicket-keeper), Nosaina Pokana, Damien Ravu, Kabua Morea

Oman: Jatinder Singh, Khawar Ali, Aqib Ilyas, Zeeshan Maqsood (captain), Kashyap Prajapati, Naseem Khushi (wicket-keeper), Mohammad Nadeem, Ayaan Khan, Sandeep Goud, Bilal Khan, Kaleemullah

Match Details

Toss: Oman, elected to fied
Venue: Al Amerat Cricket Ground, Muscat, Ministry Turf 1
Start time: 1400 hrs Oman time
Match officials: Chris Gaffaney, Kumar Dharmasena (On-field Umpires); Richard Kettleborough (TV Umpire); Ahsan Raza (Reserve Umpire); Ranjan Madugalle (Match-referee)

©Cricket World 2021