One Change In South Africa Women's WT20 Squad

Shabnim Ismail
Shabnim Ismail hits out against Sri Lanka
©International Cricket Council

South Africa have made one change to their squad for the ICC Women's World Twenty20 with Yolandi van der Westhuizen replacing Yolandi Potgieter.

The 14-member squad is otherwise unchanged from the line-up that lost to Pakistan in the recent tri-series tournament, also involving Ireland, in Qatar.

Potgieter, along with Yolani Fourie and Ayabonga Khaka are named as non-travelling reserves.

South Africa will play Ireland (29th March) and Pakistan (23rd March) again in Group A of the competition as well as two-time winners Australia on 25th March and twice runners-up New Zealand on 31st March.

"We’ve been working on a formula with the team selected and it has reaped good results for us in the past," coach Hilton Moreeng said.

"The selected players have more than what it takes to win a World Cup. The standard of play they have shown in the recent past proves that, and the determination they have to achieve that goal is second to none.

"Gone are the days when South Africa was grouped along with the bottom-tier countries in women’s cricket."

Captain Mignon du Preez is also in a bullish mood, although in no doubt as to the scale of the challenge faced by South Africa.

"It’s definitely going to be a tough competition for us and we won’t be taking anything and any team for granted," she said.

"Having played and lost to Pakistan in the final of the T20 series in Qatar, we know how dangerous they can be.

"Australia and New Zealand are in the top four countries in the world, we will always adopt the wary approach when playing them.

"They are not unknown to us however, we have played both sides before and there is definitely no intimidation factor.

"Ireland have the ability to surprise any team that will take them lightly, so we will definitely give 110% every time we play, no matter who the opposition is.

"Playing in any World Cup is a huge honour for any player and we can’t wait to get our campaign off to a good start.

"We have the team that can take us far in the competition and we will look to take it a game at a time when we arrive in Bangladesh."

South Africa ICC Women's World Twenty20 squad: Mignon du Preez (captain), Trisha Chetty (vice-captain), Moseline Daniels, Shandré Fritz, Shabnim Ismail, Marizanne Kapp, Lizelle Lee, Marcia Letsoalo, Sunette Loubser, Suné Luus, Nadine Moodley, Chloe Tryon, Yolandi van der Westhuizen, Dané van Niekerk

© Cricket World 2014

Group A: Australia, Ireland, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa Group B: Bangladesh, England, India, Sri Lanka, West Indies Fixtures & Results
23rd March: Australia v New Zealand
New Zealand Women 128-8 (Perkins 31) beat
Australia Women 121 (Blackwell 31) by 7 runs
23rd March: Pakistan v South Africa
South Africa Women 163-0 (van Niekerk 90no) beat
Pakistan Women 119-9 (Kapp 3-16) by 44 runs
24th March: England v West Indies
West Indies Women 133-7 (Taylor 56) beat
England Women 124-9 (Dottin 4-12) by 9 runs
24th March: India v Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka Women 128-8 (Atapattu 43) beat
India Women 106-9 (Prabodhani 2-9) by 22 runs
25th March: Ireland v New Zealand
New Zealand Women 171-3 (Bates 68) beat
Ireland Women 129-4 (C Joyce 41no) by 41 runs
25th March: Australia v South Africa
Australia Women 116-4 (Perry 41no) beat
South Africa Women 115-9 by six wickets
26th March: Bangladesh v West Indies
West Indies Women 115 (Dottin 34) beat
Bangladesh Women 79 (Quintyne 3-5) by 36 runs
26th March: England v India
England Women 98-5 (Taylor 28) beat
India Women 95-9 (Raj 57) by five wickets
27th March: Australia v Ireland
Australia Women 191-4 (Lanning 126) beat
Ireland Women 113-7 (Perry 2-17) by 78 runs
27th March: New Zealand v Pakistan
New Zealand Women 167-3 (Bates 94no) beat
Pakistan Women 108-7 by 59 runs
28th March: Bangladesh v England
England Women 137-5 (Edwards 80) beat
Bangladesh Women 58-9 (Hazell 3-4) by 79 runs
28th March: Sri Lanka v West Indies
West Indies Women 87-2 (Taylor 56no) beat
Sri Lanka Women 84 (Daley 4-15) by 8 wickets
29th March: Ireland v South Africa
South Africa Women 165-5 (Lee 43) beat
Ireland Women 79 (Ismail 3-5) by 86 runs
29th March: Australia v Pakistan
Australia Women 185-2 (Villani 90no) beat
Pakistan Women 91-9 (Perry 3-12) by 94 runs
30th March: Bangladesh v India
India Women 151-4 (Kaur 77, Raj 41) beat
Bangladesh Women 72-8 by 79 runs
30th March: England v Sri Lanka
England Women 86-3 (Taylor 36) beat
Sri Lanka Women 85-9 by seven wickets
31st March: Ireland v Pakistan
Pakistan Women 119-6 (Bismah Maroof 48no) beat
Ireland Women 105 (A Iqbal 3-18) by 14 runs
31st March: New Zealand v South Africa
South Africa Women 116-5 (du Preez 51) beat
New Zealand Women 114-9 by 5 wickets
1st April: Bangladesh v Sri Lanka
Bangladesh Women 115-9 (R Ahmed 41) beat
Sri Lanka Women 112-9 by three runs
1st April: India v West Indies
India Women 121-1 (Raut 56, Raj 55no) beat
West Indies 117-7 (Dottin 57) by nine wickets
3rd April: Semi-Final
Australia Women 140-5 (Villani 35) beat
West Indies Women 132-4 by 8 runs
4th April: Semi-Final
England Women 102-1 (Taylor 44no) beat
South Africa Women 101 by nine wickets
6th April: Final - Australia v England
Australia Women 106-4 (Lanning 44) beat
England Women 105-8 (Coyte 3-16) by 6 wickets