< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Openers deliver playoff berth for Guyana Amazon Warriors

Dwayne Smith (left) and Nic Maddinson (right) added 92-run opening stand after the bowlers restricted Barbados to 142.
Dwayne Smith (left) and Nic Maddinson (right) added 92-run opening stand after the bowlers restricted Barbados to 142.
©CPL / Sportsfile

Guyana Amazon Warriors 143-4 (Smith 50) beat
Barbados Tridents 142-7 (Malik 55no) by six wickets
25th Match, Caribbean Premier League, Lauderhill
Scorecard | Watch all CPL matches live with fuboTV

A 92-run opening stand between Dwayne Smith and Nic Maddinson helped secure a playoff berth for the Guyana Amazon Warriors, who chased a target of 143 runs in 18.2 overs to register a six-wicket win over the Barbados Tridents in the 25th match in the Caribbean Premier League in Lauderhill.

Guyana Amazon Warriors won the toss and opted to field first. Sohail Tanvir (2-35) struck in the second over to remove Ahmed Shehzad (15), but Kyle Hope (13) and David Wiese (40) took the score to 48 for one in the powerplay.

Hope was caught behind in the seventh over. However, Shoaib Malik (55 not out) and Wiese managed to push Barbados Tridents to 85 for two at the half-way mark.

In an attempt to up the ante, Wiese holed out to long off in the 13th over, ending the 48-run stand.

Watch the CPL with fuboTV

Nicholas Pooran (3) and Kieron Pollard (0) fell in successive overs, reducing Barbados Tridents to 107 for five after 15 overs.

Despite losing partners at the other end, Malik stayed unbeaten and completed his fifty, taking Barbados Tridents to 142 for seven in 20 overs.

Smith (50) and Maddinson (50) got Guyana Amazon Warriors to a blazing start with a flurry of boundaries, taking the score to 51 for naught in the powerplay.

Smith completed a 28-ball fifty in the 10th over, leaving the Guyana Amazon Warriors at 92 for naught at the half-way mark. However, he fell in the 11th over to Raymon Reifer (2-22).

Maddinson then went on to bring up his fifty in 39-balls. However, Maddinson and Chris Lynn (9) fell in immediate succession.

Despite losing Jason Mohammed (8) in the 18th over, Chris Barnwell (15 not out) and Tanvir (7 not out) ensured that Guyana Amazon Warriors chased down the target in 18.2 overs.

This six-wicket win gave Guyana Amazon a berth in the playoffs and consolidated their second position. Meanwhile, Barbados Tridents are placed fifth. Smith won the man of the match award.

Watch the CPL with fuboTV

© Cricket World 2016